Page 1 of 1

blackberryhandbaseusers.exe stopped working - wont sync

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:20 pm
by Cwatson21
what does "blackberryhandbaseusers.exe has stopped working" mean?

I havent been able to sync my blackberry to my laptop for a while now and cannot figure out how to fix this.

Re: blackberryhandbaseusers.exe stopped working - wont sync

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:34 pm
by Brian_Houghton
Hello,

Thanks for writing. This can happen when the conduit has trouble processing a database. Please open HanDBase Desktop and select Configure -> Blackberry Users -> View Log. Scroll to the bottom. Find the start of the last sync. Select it, copy it and paste it into your reply to this message.

We'll then check it for errors.

Re: blackberryhandbaseusers.exe stopped working - wont sync

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:15 pm
by Cwatson21
Hi Thank you for your help. Here is the last time I tried to sync and ran into problems.

01-11-2012 11:12: Synchronizing with User: Cole's Blackberry
01-11-2012 11:12: HanDBase Professional for Blackberry 4.1.5 Build R2
01-11-2012 11:12: Reading Shared Database Settings for: backup
01-11-2012 11:12: Database: backup Sync Mode: Synchronize
01-11-2012 11:12: Database Not Found on the Desktop or the BlackBerry
01-11-2012 11:12: Database: Arista Database Sync Mode: Handheld Overwrites Desktop
01-11-2012 11:12: Getting BlackBerry Database: Arista Database...
01-11-2012 11:12: Getting BlackBerry Database: Arista Database...OK
01-11-2012 11:12: Database: Case Log Sync Mode: Handheld Overwrites Desktop
01-11-2012 11:12: Getting BlackBerry Database: Case Log...
01-11-2012 11:12: Getting BlackBerry Database: Case Log...OK
01-11-2012 11:12: Database: Customers Sync Mode: Handheld Overwrites Desktop
01-11-2012 11:12: Getting BlackBerry Database: Customers...
01-11-2012 11:12: Getting BlackBerry Database: Customers...OK
01-11-2012 11:12: Database: Hospital Personnel Sync Mode: Handheld Overwrites Desktop
01-11-2012 11:12: Getting BlackBerry Database: Hospital Personnel ...

Does this mean the Hosptial Personnel file is corrupted or what can i do to fix this?

Thanks

Re: blackberryhandbaseusers.exe stopped working - wont sync

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:12 pm
by dhaupert
Thanks for sending the log. So there are no entries after that? It's not necessarily corrupted, but it is definitely causing the hangup. Try this:

Go to the Sync Settings for the user.
Find the Hospital Personnel database in the list along the left.
Uncheck the box to follow the default settings and then click the option to 'do nothing'.
Go back and try to sync again.

Does it now complete?

Re: blackberryhandbaseusers.exe stopped working - wont sync

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:49 pm
by Cwatson21
Ya, it completed its sync this time. The pop up "There were database errors. Would you like to view your log?" comes up still but it finished syncing. So what do I need to do to fix that file - Hospital Personnel?

Thanks for all your help.

Cole

Re: blackberryhandbaseusers.exe stopped working - wont sync

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:01 pm
by Brian_Houghton
Hi Cole,

Thanks for following up. For starters, I'd try to revert to an older version of the database. You can find backups at ..\Documents\HanDBase\*\Backup\. They will be date and time stamped so you can see what the most recent version is.

Try the first one, checking to see if it syncs properly. If not, move on to the next oldest.

If you don't have much/any luck here, do a quick rebuild of the file. You can export its contents using File - Export, close the file, import the CSV file using File - Import to generate a new file and switch field types as necessary via Database Properties - Fields.