Page 1 of 2

Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:04 am
by dhaupert
Hey all,

Sacha, the developer of the tutorial used to allow running of native Android apps that use native C code on BlackBerry (see other threads in this section) sent me a link to a new way to run HanDBase on BlackBerry:

http://forums.crackberry.com/bb10-leake ... me-842651/

If you're running 10.2, you should be able to side load this BAR file to replace the Android player that it ships with, for one that allows apps like HanDBase for Android and others to run on your device!

I have not tried this as we don't have any of the new Blackberries on hand here, but there are hundreds of follow up posts with great feedback on that forum.

I'd love to hear back from anyone who's tried it with HanDBase. Thanks in advance!

Re: Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:11 pm
by chilcotin
Hi Dave,

I would like to give this a try. I have a Blackberry Z10 running OS 10.2 and have installed the special runtime version of Android mentioned in the Crackberry blog. It seems that the only way to get an android copy of hanDBase is through Google Play and Google Play only works with Android devices. Is there a way to obtain an Android copy of hanDBase that I can experiment with?

Re: Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:42 pm
by dhaupert
Hi there,

There is a way to order the HanDBase for Android app from our site- it's only something I recommend for those who don't have Google Play access since it won't auto update. Here's how to do it:

visit: http://www.ddhsoftware.com/priority.html

Enter the code: ANDROIDNOMARKET

and you should be able to then purchase the Android app and get the APK file. Let me know how it goes for you!

Re: Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 3:04 am
by chilcotin
I was able to get an Android copy of hanDBase sideloaded onto my Blackberry Z10 using exactly the method described in the link in the previous post. It seems to be working quite well with the standard databases that are loaded with the app.

The only problem is syncing with the Android desktop - I was unable to connect using either the wifi alternative, the USB alternative, or the SD card alternative. However, I really did not expect it to be that easy.

That being said, it is really great to have what appears to be a fully functioning hanDBase client running on my Blackberry Z10. Surely it will not be long before we will be able to also sync to a desktop hanDBase programme.

Re: Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:43 pm
by Brian_Houghton
chilcotin wrote:I was able to get an Android copy of hanDBase sideloaded onto my Blackberry Z10 using exactly the method described in the link in the previous post. It seems to be working quite well with the standard databases that are loaded with the app.

The only problem is syncing with the Android desktop - I was unable to connect using either the wifi alternative, the USB alternative, or the SD card alternative. However, I really did not expect it to be that easy.

That being said, it is really great to have what appears to be a fully functioning hanDBase client running on my Blackberry Z10. Surely it will not be long before we will be able to also sync to a desktop hanDBase programme.


When you tried the wifi sync, did a specific error message appear? If so, what is the text of it?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

Re: Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 12:21 am
by chilcotin
When attempting to sync using the wifi mode, I received the following error message:

"Could not get Device name from Device. Either the device is not running desktop connect, it's not running on the same wifi network as this computer, or the device's address was not valid." Desktop connect was running on my Blackberry Z10 and the device's address was valid.

When I attempted to sync using a USB cable, I received the following error message:

"Could not locate any connected drive letters that are linked to HanDBase on an Android device. Please make sure you have USB storage mode enabled and that you have run HanDBase on this device before." I could access my Z10's main memory using drive Y using Windows Explorer. Similarly, I could access the sd card on the Z10 at Drive X.

Hope this helps.

Chilcotin

Re: Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 12:26 am
by chilcotin
When attempting to sync using the wifi mode, I received the following error message:

"Could not get Device name from Device. Either the device is not running desktop connect, it's not running on the same wifi network as this computer, or the device's address was not valid." Desktop connect was running on my Blackberry Z10 and the device's address was valid.

When I attempted to sync using a USB cable, I received the following error message:

"Could not locate any connected drive letters that are linked to HanDBase on an Android device. Please make sure you have USB storage mode enabled and that you have run HanDBase on this device before." I could access my Z10's main memory using drive Y using Windows Explorer. Similarly, I could access the sd card on the Z10 at Drive X.

Hope this helps.

Chilcotin

Re: Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 8:23 am
by Brian_Houghton
Thanks for the update. When you browse to the HanDBase folder on the Blackberry, you should find a folder inside of it called Info. Within that folder you should find two files. Please attach those files to the reply, so we can take a look at what the device name is.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

Re: Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 2:45 pm
by chilcotin
Hi Brian,

Thanks for the quick reply. Since i am not able to upload txt files, I will show the contents instead.

deviceid.txt - c5ee39960d34f64d

runningstatus.txt - HanDBase is Running

versionnumber.txt - Version: 4.6.04

Hope that this will be helpful.

Re: Running HanDBase for Android on a 10.2 BlackBerry

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 10:37 am
by Brian_Houghton
Thanks for following up. Please try this method of connecting to see if it makes a difference:

1. Enable wifi on the Blackberry, making certain that it is using the same wifi network as the one your computer is using.
2. Open HanDBase on the Blackberry.
3. Switch to the database selection screen.
4. Tap the Connect button, which resembles two circular arrows.
5. Open HanDBase Desktop on your computer.
6. Select the Configure / Android Users menu option.
7. Select the option to set up a new partnership. When prompted select the Wifi option. Enter a name for the Blackberry and continue with entering the address shown on the screen of the phone.

At this point the partnership should be created and the first sync should proceed.

Please let me know how you get along!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD