Page 1 of 2

Export to Access

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:07 pm
by mpierro
When I select "Export to Access" from the File Menu, I get a "Login" Alert Box, asking for a login name and password. I have no idea what the login name or password would be! If I close the box, I can make the export settings in the "HanDBase Data Exchange for Microsoft Access" window, but when I click "Export Data" the same Login Alert Box shows up. Sometimes I get a "ODBC Microsoft Access Driver Login Failed" message, "unrecognized database format".

My iT guys assure me I have all the necessary folder permissions. This happens on several different computers, even one where I am the Administrator.

We are running Desktop v4.1.5 with the HanDBase Professional for iPhone add on v4.1 Build R1

Thanks for the help!

Re: Export to Access

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:31 pm
by Saintor
Same goes here. I use Access 2007/2010 but the database was created using MDB format (2002/2003).

"Unrecognized database format" and in the title it says; "ODBC Microsoft Access Driver Login Failed". I think that it is a Windows 7 message.

Basically I have never been able to export to Access so far.

Re: Export to Access

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:57 pm
by Dr. Richard Williams
I played around with the desktop and read thru the handbase manuals and got it to work (I use Windows XP Professional). It seems to me that the export is done solely between handbase and access. In the old days, it was accomplished thru the palm hotsync.

I do not like the way handbase does it: it seems to be one way; you have too many hoops to set up and load and use and more and more to get it to work right;... but it does.

Re: Export to Access

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:18 pm
by Saintor
It seems to me that the export is done solely between handbase and access


If so, why is our error message referring to ODBC? I checked in the manual and couldn't find anything to solve our specific issue.

Re: Export to Access

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:34 pm
by dhaupert
I don't know how I could have missed this entire thread the past two months- I'm very sorry it was off my radar all this time and definitely not intentional!

First to clarify- The export from the File menu is a one way conversion, not a sync. To set up a sync, you go through the sync settings! Just go to the Sync settings and for the database you want to sync, you can configure it there. That was something Dr Richard Williams mentioned which I believe needed to be cleared up.

Second clarification- the HanDBase Sync Exchange for Access still uses ODBC. Unlike the Enterprise version which works with any ODBC source, this version is limited to just Access. We charge less because unlike the ODBC one which has to support a myriad of ODBC enabled sources, the Access one just has to support one. That said, it sounds like it is failing in this configuration.

Now to the permissions issue- I'm not sure why that's happening for you. We've tested with Windows 7 and Access 2007 (as well as older versions), and not seen that problem occur. Are any of you that are seeing this using anything other than Access 2010?

Re: Export to Access

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:00 pm
by Saintor
It also does it in Access 2007 (I chose Access 2000 format this time). I also tried ACCDB format.

Image

EDIT: I tried with my other dbs and tadam, it worked. So I assume that my main db has a problem. I tried to select columns to export and identified one column that seems to cause problem. Its name was "time" so I changed it to "time1", no change. Without this column, it exports to Access just fine. This field is a calculated type in time format and the result is ok. The formula is ((F3-F2)/60)| F3 and F2 are in time format.

In the field properties, I uncheck "Export field", didn't help. I tried to change the format to 4 decimal places", integer.

*Finally* I exported the table in Access without the time1 field, added it manually in Access and used "Export Mapped Columns". And then the time1 field is correctly exported. It took a while to counter the error message, but now it works.

Re: Export to Access

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:59 pm
by mandalamike
I tried creating a 2 field database (both text) to test out the synching with MS Access for the first time (letting it create it from scratch) and it also asks me for a login and password. When I try to add the data source it tells me the .mdb file that is to be created is an unrecognized format. Try #2 was to create the Access database with the exact same fields and the same problem happens. If I try to map the columns I get the same error happening.

Re: Export to Access

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:12 am
by dhaupert
Hi there,

Can you tell me what version of Access you are using? That's a great starting point..

Re: Export to Access

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:49 pm
by mandalamike
I'm working with Access 2007 and I purchased HanDBase Professional. I tried saving as .mdb and .accdb. Here's the error from the log:

11 14:46: Processing Sync Exchange entry for database: Test
02-03-2011 14:46: SyncExchange failed to execute properly on this database:
02-03-2011 14:46: Access/HanDBase Merge Failed.
02-03-2011 14:46: Error was [Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver]General Warning Unable to open registry key 'Temporary (volatile) Jet DSN for process 0x12d0 Thread 0x1448 DBC 0xa2285c Jet'.
02-03-2011 14:46: Saving Changes to iPhone: Test...

??? I think I've fixed it. The major issue was making sure the database was saved as .accdb in the synch settings

Re: Export to Access

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:08 pm
by dhaupert
Please let me know if starting the sync after manually setting it up to a accdb file is the solution to your issue. I was about to go down a completely different road looking into administrative privileges and such so it's great that you discovered this!