Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

Discuss HanDBase running on Mac OSX computers, as well as conduits.

Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

Postby DonPearson » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:18 am

When starting the desktop on my MacBook this morning I received an alert that the application needs to be updated to improve performance. Is an update in the works?
DonPearson
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:50 pm

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

Postby curtterp » Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:20 am

The message that you are seeing is likely the message from Apple saying that HanDBase desktop for the Mac is a 32bit program and 32bit support will be removed in a later version of macOS.

I just checked the download section of HanDBase website and there is no 64bit update as of today.

It is unclear when Apple will remove 32bit support, but many analysts are predicting that Apple will remove it in the Mojave (macOS 10.14) update. but I am not sure since Apple hasn't confirmed that rumor yet.

If you want to see which programs will be affected,
  • Click on the Apple Icon in the Upper left-hand corner
  • Click on About this Mac
  • Click on the System Report Button
  • Scroll down the left side of the window until you see Software, expand it if needed, and then click on Applications

It will take up to a minute to populate. There will be a column called 64bit. You can click on it to sort.

It is interesting to see which programs will not work when Apple cuts off 32bit support in the future.
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

Postby dhaupert » Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:00 pm

DonPearson wrote:When starting the desktop on my MacBook this morning I received an alert that the application needs to be updated to improve performance. Is an update in the works?


Hi,

As Curt said, this is a warning about the impending 32->64 cutoff. I will definitely release an update to support 64bit when that is confirmed to be happening!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4113
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

Postby eheffa » Wed Oct 10, 2018 12:07 pm

Hi Dave,

I depend on HandBase to keep track of my Anesthesia Practice Billings.
I move this data to another program to prepare for billing submission and use the Mac HanDBase Desktop app to create CSV versions of the data.

I guess I could use the native iOS app to do this conversion to CSV but would still appreciate the ability to use the Desktop App.

Will this Desktop App be compatible with Mojave?

-evan
eheffa
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:39 pm

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

Postby PPanchak » Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:45 pm

dhaupert wrote:
DonPearson wrote:When starting the desktop on my MacBook this morning I received an alert that the application needs to be updated to improve performance. Is an update in the works?


Hi,

As Curt said, this is a warning about the impending 32->64 cutoff. I will definitely release an update to support 64bit when that is confirmed to be happening!


Soooo.... what does that mean? Does it mean that the software I just purchased will not work?

thank you,
Pat
PPanchak
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:41 pm

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

Postby curtterp » Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:27 pm

Yes it is compatible with Mojave

Apple has not cut off 32-bit apps this time around, but if they stay true to form, the next major update might kill off 32-bit programs.
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

Postby ddhsoftwareadmin » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:07 pm

eheffa wrote:Hi Dave,

I depend on HandBase to keep track of my Anesthesia Practice Billings.
I move this data to another program to prepare for billing submission and use the Mac HanDBase Desktop app to create CSV versions of the data.

I guess I could use the native iOS app to do this conversion to CSV but would still appreciate the ability to use the Desktop App.

Will this Desktop App be compatible with Mojave?

-evan


Hi,

It's the next version after Mojave that won't work without 64 bit support, so we have almost a year to update. As you probably know by now, it works fine under Mojave!
ddhsoftwareadmin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:13 pm


Return to HanDBase for Mac

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron