Page 1 of 1

Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:18 am
by DonPearson
When starting the desktop on my MacBook this morning I received an alert that the application needs to be updated to improve performance. Is an update in the works?

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:20 am
by curtterp
The message that you are seeing is likely the message from Apple saying that HanDBase desktop for the Mac is a 32bit program and 32bit support will be removed in a later version of macOS.

I just checked the download section of HanDBase website and there is no 64bit update as of today.

It is unclear when Apple will remove 32bit support, but many analysts are predicting that Apple will remove it in the Mojave (macOS 10.14) update. but I am not sure since Apple hasn't confirmed that rumor yet.

If you want to see which programs will be affected,
  • Click on the Apple Icon in the Upper left-hand corner
  • Click on About this Mac
  • Click on the System Report Button
  • Scroll down the left side of the window until you see Software, expand it if needed, and then click on Applications

It will take up to a minute to populate. There will be a column called 64bit. You can click on it to sort.

It is interesting to see which programs will not work when Apple cuts off 32bit support in the future.

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:00 pm
by dhaupert
DonPearson wrote:When starting the desktop on my MacBook this morning I received an alert that the application needs to be updated to improve performance. Is an update in the works?


Hi,

As Curt said, this is a warning about the impending 32->64 cutoff. I will definitely release an update to support 64bit when that is confirmed to be happening!

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 12:07 pm
by eheffa
Hi Dave,

I depend on HandBase to keep track of my Anesthesia Practice Billings.
I move this data to another program to prepare for billing submission and use the Mac HanDBase Desktop app to create CSV versions of the data.

I guess I could use the native iOS app to do this conversion to CSV but would still appreciate the ability to use the Desktop App.

Will this Desktop App be compatible with Mojave?

-evan

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:45 pm
by PPanchak
dhaupert wrote:
DonPearson wrote:When starting the desktop on my MacBook this morning I received an alert that the application needs to be updated to improve performance. Is an update in the works?


Hi,

As Curt said, this is a warning about the impending 32->64 cutoff. I will definitely release an update to support 64bit when that is confirmed to be happening!


Soooo.... what does that mean? Does it mean that the software I just purchased will not work?

thank you,
Pat

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:27 pm
by curtterp
Yes it is compatible with Mojave

Apple has not cut off 32-bit apps this time around, but if they stay true to form, the next major update might kill off 32-bit programs.

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:07 pm
by ddhsoftwareadmin
eheffa wrote:Hi Dave,

I depend on HandBase to keep track of my Anesthesia Practice Billings.
I move this data to another program to prepare for billing submission and use the Mac HanDBase Desktop app to create CSV versions of the data.

I guess I could use the native iOS app to do this conversion to CSV but would still appreciate the ability to use the Desktop App.

Will this Desktop App be compatible with Mojave?

-evan


Hi,

It's the next version after Mojave that won't work without 64 bit support, so we have almost a year to update. As you probably know by now, it works fine under Mojave!

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 1:19 am
by Keeloid
I'd like to disagree with the "works fine on Mojave". I've been a HanDBase Mac user for years but when I purchased a new iMac with Mojave already installed, I'm now seeing window formatting errors as shown in the attached screenshot.

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:10 am
by ddhsoftwareadmin
Hi there,

Thanks for following up- can you send me the database you're using there so I can try on my machine- I'm not having any issues with Mojave on my end with HanDBase Desktop.

Re: Is there an update to the Mac Desktop?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:09 am
by curtterp
I just opened a bunch of databases that I have in my iMac, and I see the same issue. I opened both from my iPhone and iPad Backups.

I see the issue when I go to look at a record or click New to create a new record.

It is consistent. The screen paints the list of columns across the screen about 4 or 5 lines down. It doesn't matter if there are 2 columns or 20 columns.

I have a 27" iMac, late 2015 hardware, and the most recent update to Mojave installed.