Mac M1 Processor and HanDBase fun

Discuss HanDBase running on Mac OSX computers, as well as conduits.

Re: Mac M1 Processor and HanDBase fun

Postby ken.w » Mon Nov 23, 2020 11:22 pm

curtterp wrote:
ken.w wrote:Thanks, Curt. That definitely gave me some ideas. I got an image uploaded to it, but macOS will only seem to to allow one at a time. I guess this could end up working in a limited fashion. Maybe if Dave eventually can get something like iCloud syncing working, that will fix this "issue". But this is a pretty neat proof-of-concept.


Glad that I could give you some ideas.


The last information I had seen from Dave, is that he was not looking at an iCloud solution, but a solution that worked for everyone, both Android and Apple. But to do an iCloud solution, then also have Google Drive/Dropbox/Onedrive code, there is a lot of code there to try to maintain. But then one solution for everyone means cash outlay for servers etc, so it might be better to just have code for all the different cloud storage places might work better, and have a preference to active which one you want, then a place for the user to put in the credentials for their cloud storage of choice could actually be easier to implement.

I am just thinking out loud there, I have no inside information into Dave's thinking or where he is at right now in the cloud sync thinking. I just know from what he has said in the forum in the past.

That makes total sense, given the multiple platforms HanDBase runs on. Dropbox would be my preference. I wish Dave would go subscription. I know I'd be more than happy to do that, and it would bring in more consistent money for Dave.
ken.w
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:22 pm

Re: Mac M1 Processor and HanDBase fun

Postby galenmd » Tue Dec 08, 2020 10:40 am

Hello everyone. It has been a long time. I've been using HanDBase since it's inception.
I just migrated to a new M1 MacBook. The app, version 4.3, is not compatible and I am told it needs to be upgraded. How do I do that? I tried going to the download section and tried the free trial version, but I got the same issue with that one. Apparently, you guys got it working. I would like to sync data for purposes of backing up and for printing out lists. Thanks in advance.
galenmd
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:06 am

Re: Mac M1 Processor and HanDBase fun

Postby ken.w » Tue Dec 08, 2020 11:02 am

galenmd wrote:Hello everyone. It has been a long time. I've been using HanDBase since it's inception.
I just migrated to a new M1 MacBook. The app, version 4.3, is not compatible and I am told it needs to be upgraded. How do I do that? I tried going to the download section and tried the free trial version, but I got the same issue with that one. Apparently, you guys got it working. I would like to sync data for purposes of backing up and for printing out lists. Thanks in advance.

Hi. The current version is 4.6.0.2 and it's working fine on my M1 Mac mini. Do you have a login for software downloads? That's how I got the latest version.

http://www.ddhsoftware.com/download.html
ken.w
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:22 pm

Re: Mac M1 Processor and HanDBase fun

Postby curtterp » Tue Dec 08, 2020 11:45 am

galenmd wrote:Hello everyone. It has been a long time. I've been using HanDBase since it's inception.
I just migrated to a new M1 MacBook. The app, version 4.3, is not compatible and I am told it needs to be upgraded. How do I do that? I tried going to the download section and tried the free trial version, but I got the same issue with that one. Apparently, you guys got it working. I would like to sync data for purposes of backing up and for printing out lists. Thanks in advance.


When you purchased HanDBase Desktop, you got an email from DDH Software with login information.

Once you login, you download the latest version, and also the software key is located in the same section.

Once you install the latest version, you may need to delete the current partnership and create a new one.
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: Mac M1 Processor and HanDBase fun

Postby Max » Sun Dec 20, 2020 7:15 pm

curtterp wrote:...I downloaded my iPad HanDBase app and it runs pretty well on the MacBook Air. I then downloaded the HanDBase Desktop for Mac.

I was impressed that I could sync the iPad App and the Desktop program right there on my Mac. There is no real value to doing this, but I was just seeing if the sync would work as a proof of concept.


Terrific news! I've been hoping for a Mac version of the HanDBase app, and I guess that's it. (Not quite ready to buy a new iMac just yet, but this makes the idea more attractive. I don't know how anyone could live without HanDBase!)
Max
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:10 pm

Re: Mac M1 Processor and HanDBase fun

Postby Astroman33 » Fri Jan 01, 2021 8:06 am

Glad to hear the reports of success on the M1s.

I'm using an older MacBook Air. I was using HDB for Mac, version 4.25. Downloaded the latest version and now when I launch it, I get the message:

""HanDBase Desktop 4” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software.
This software needs to be updated. Contact the developer for more information."

Any work arounds?!

In any event, Happy New Year, all!
Astroman33
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:46 am

Re: Mac M1 Processor and HanDBase fun

Postby curtterp » Fri Jan 01, 2021 3:33 pm

Astroman33 wrote:Glad to hear the reports of success on the M1s.

I'm using an older MacBook Air. I was using HDB for Mac, version 4.25. Downloaded the latest version and now when I launch it, I get the message:

""HanDBase Desktop 4” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software.
This software needs to be updated. Contact the developer for more information."

Any work arounds?!

In any event, Happy New Year, all!


The latest version of HanDBase Desktop for the Mac is Version 4.6.0.2

if you purchased the Desktop for Mac, go here http://www.ddhsoftware.com/download.html and login with the credentials that were emailed to you when you purchased it. Then you can download the latest version.

Note: After you login, you will see the download link. It shows the version as being 4.512, but it is actually version 4.6.0.2
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: Mac M1 Processor and HanDBase fun

Postby ken.w » Fri Jan 01, 2021 4:10 pm

curtterp wrote:
Astroman33 wrote:Glad to hear the reports of success on the M1s.

I'm using an older MacBook Air. I was using HDB for Mac, version 4.25. Downloaded the latest version and now when I launch it, I get the message:

""HanDBase Desktop 4” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software.
This software needs to be updated. Contact the developer for more information."

Any work arounds?!

In any event, Happy New Year, all!


The latest version of HanDBase Desktop for the Mac is Version 4.6.0.2

if you purchased the Desktop for Mac, go here http://www.ddhsoftware.com/download.html and login with the credentials that were emailed to you when you purchased it. Then you can download the latest version.

Note: After you login, you will see the download link. It shows the version as being 4.512, but it is actually version 4.6.0.2

And has the updated app icon, which I'm happy about.
ken.w
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:22 pm

Previous

Return to HanDBase for Mac

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests