Page 1 of 1

HanDBase for Mac - 4.29a Development Version Released!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 3:47 pm
by dhaupert
Hi all,

I'm excited to announce some progress in the HanDBase for Mac development front!

We have released a 'Development Version' of HanDBase 4.29a for Mac. This version includes the following new functionality:

Edit/New Record screen with support for most field types
Edit Popups screen
Use of New Icon

When you click New or Double click a record, you should be taken to the Edit Record screen.  It's almost but not quite complete.  Here's what's missing:

Image/Signature field support
Any relational capabilities.  This includes showing relationship values, following links/linked/db popup/relationships.
Any sort of copy record to new, export record, etc.
Right now the program is not checking permissions for Edit Popups feature.

I plan on implementing the above items over the next few weeks and plan on releasing several updates as I make progress towards this goal. Beyond that, the other features still in our project timeline are:

Printing support
Encryption support
Edit Views and Edit Filters support
DB Properties support


Hope you like what I've done so far :)


Answers to common questions:
What is a development version?

A development version is like a public beta version. When we make significant changes to a program that is not part of a major update (eg, 4.0, 5.0), we like to make sure that no new problems surfaced in the fixes we made. While we did test this application in house and with testers, it's best to keep the current release version as the current release, and only those who are needing some of the above changes can take the initiative to download the development version. Should you run into any issues, you can always come back to the Registered User's page and download the current release version to get back to where you were before. As with any update, I'd suggest backing up all your files before performing the update.

How do I get the development version?

Log into the Registered users page:
http://www.ddhsoftware.com/download
Username: Your email address
Password: what password you were given at purchase (not your license key). If you don't have this, click the lost password option on the above page and we'll email it to you.

Next to each product you'll see the Download button- that is NOT the one you want as it's the latest release version. Instead, select the option under the words: Latest Development Version: 4.1.5 build D4 to download. That will get you the installer for the development version!

Why was the bug xxx I reported not fixed in this version?

This version addresses most all bugs we were able to verify and duplicate in house. If we can't duplicate the bug we can't fix it. If your submission was not verified, chances are we emailed you back to say we needed more help duplicating the issue on our end. If we didn't, there is a chance we missed it or it fell through the crack. If so, very sorry about that. Feel free to comment in this topic if this is the case, and I can comment on that particular issue or follow up with you.

Is this going to be the release version?

If we find no issues, or can fix any small remaining bugs or issues without any major changes, we will likely just release the slightly fixed version in a few weeks. If there are any significant issues, we'll likely release another development version before the release version.

Hope this version works well for you! Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Re: HanDBase for Mac - 4.29a Development Version Released!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:31 am
by rostno
Hi Dave,
I downloaded the development version and I cannot get it to work at all. Most of the time when I choose a database from either the "Open recent" menu item or the database browser I get zip - no window at all. Occasionally a blank window will open (although there are records in the DB). If I click on he "New" button in this blank window I receive the error message that I have exceeded the maximum number of records - there are 15 records in this DB. This happens for both databases I created on my Touch and for those that came with the Touch HanDBase program.
I am using OS 10.4.11 on a non-Intel machine. Synchronized with the Touch just prior to trying the new desktop version. Everything works just fine using the current released version of the desktop app. Any ideas?

Thanks for your efforts in developing the desktop version. It will be most welcome as more capabilities are included.

Best wishes,
Robert

Re: HanDBase for Mac - 4.29a Development Version Released!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:24 am
by dhaupert
rostno wrote:Hi Dave,
I downloaded the development version and I cannot get it to work at all. Most of the time when I choose a database from either the "Open recent" menu item or the database browser I get zip - no window at all. Occasionally a blank window will open (although there are records in the DB). If I click on he "New" button in this blank window I receive the error message that I have exceeded the maximum number of records - there are 15 records in this DB. This happens for both databases I created on my Touch and for those that came with the Touch HanDBase program.
I am using OS 10.4.11 on a non-Intel machine. Synchronized with the Touch just prior to trying the new desktop version. Everything works just fine using the current released version of the desktop app. Any ideas?

Thanks for your efforts in developing the desktop version. It will be most welcome as more capabilities are included.

Best wishes,
Robert


Hi Robert,

Yours is the feedback I was waiting for, though not the results I hoped for! As from all I can read, now that my development machine is running the XCode that ships with Snow Leopard, I can no longer target HanDBase Desktop for non-Intel machines, or even pre 10.5 for that matter. This build is set to make a universal binary but I can only target OS 10.5 and higher. When running on a PPC machine here in house it won't even start. Everything I've read said that this is the way of the world at this point- I'm hoping I can find a workaround.

If you start up the Console (under Applications->Utilities->Console), go to System log and then press the 'Clear Screen' button and then launch HanDBase for Mac, hopefully you will get some clues as to where things are failing. If you could copy and paste that to me, or email it to my address below if you'd prefer, that may provide us some guidance.

Thanks!

Re: HanDBase for Mac - 4.29a Development Version Released!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:31 am
by rostno
Thanks for the response, Dave. I sent the console log to your email address.

Best wishes,
Robert

Re: HanDBase for Mac - 4.29a Development Version Released!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 4:03 pm
by MadMacs
Hi. I've tried the new release, looks good. :D
I have tried to find a list of known bugs, so I can be sure of only sending useful information, but have not found it yet.
Could you post a link to the bug list for the development builds?

After quick look I managed to crash it by trying to edit the pop-up list of a field that does not have a pop-up list.
Stupid I know :roll: , but it would be better not to get the edit pop-up list message when it is not a valid choice.

Re: HanDBase for Mac - 4.29a Development Version Released!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:52 am
by dhaupert
MadMacs wrote:Hi. I've tried the new release, looks good. :D
I have tried to find a list of known bugs, so I can be sure of only sending useful information, but have not found it yet.
Could you post a link to the bug list for the development builds?

After quick look I managed to crash it by trying to edit the pop-up list of a field that does not have a pop-up list.
Stupid I know :roll: , but it would be better not to get the edit pop-up list message when it is not a valid choice.


Hi there,

Thanks for giving it a try!

At this point since we just released yesterday this is the place to discuss bugs. Once I verify a bug or two, I'll create a topic on this forum for it so we can keep it all in one place.

In regards to the bug you found, the only fields with an option to edit a popup list are indeed valid places to edit a popup. I think the bug you're seeing is just that the Popup List editor is failing with an empty popup list. One of our beta testers sent a bug report on that yesterday just while we were sending out the newsletter, so I believe it's indeed a bug there, I know all my test databases had popup items when I went to edit, so my bad on not testing that combination!

I will verify and post this as the first bug ASAP. Thanks so much for your feedback!

Re: HanDBase for Mac - 4.29a Development Version Released!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 4:33 pm
by dhaupert
Just as a followup, indeed I did find this bug (empty popup lists could not be edited) and fixed it. Will be updating hopefully early next week with a few bug fixes we've collected.

Re: HanDBase for Mac - 4.29a Development Version Released!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:14 pm
by alegrandinettI
Dear Dave,

I recently started using Handbase on the Iphone. I was able to transfer a database I used on my Palm OS using a software called MobileDB.
What I need to know is if I will be able to assign a field to pop-up and create pop-ups to use with the new records I am going to continue to use on that specific database. When I try to do that on the Iphone it says it has to erase all data on the specific field. I am a eye surgeon and I have over 2000 patients records on that database. I cannot afford to loose any data.
Another question I have is if it will be possible to export the database into excel format.

Yours, Sincerely

Alexandre Grandinetti, MD

Re: HanDBase for Mac - 4.29a Development Version Released!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:34 pm
by dhaupert
alegrandinettI wrote:Dear Dave,

I recently started using Handbase on the Iphone. I was able to transfer a database I used on my Palm OS using a software called MobileDB.
What I need to know is if I will be able to assign a field to pop-up and create pop-ups to use with the new records I am going to continue to use on that specific database. When I try to do that on the Iphone it says it has to erase all data on the specific field. I am a eye surgeon and I have over 2000 patients records on that database. I cannot afford to loose any data.



Sorry for the delayed response to your questions. What you probably want to select is a text field type. You can still use popup lists with our text field types. So you can have a list of items you commonly use and it doesn't interfere with values already in there. If you really need this field to be a popup list only (ie, no text entry), then you'd have to first create an empty shell of a database and choose the field types you would want in the matching positions. If you create a popup field in the position you have this data, then when you import you'll get a popup list created of that data, and each value assigned automatically. However, If you create a database and have a text field as a default, then when you try to switch to Popup, it won't allow without a data loss because the Popup field type stores unique pointers to a list of values, not text.

Another question I have is if it will be possible to export the database into excel format.


You posted your question under the HanDBase for Mac section, so I'm assuming you're using a Mac. If so, then we can export to CSV on the mac. This is something you can open in Excel and then save as an Excel file. If you're using a windows computer we have the direct to excel export option there.

Hope this helps!