HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Discussion of HanDBase running on Windows Mobile Standard (formerly Smartphones) devices and syncing with desktop computers.

HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby DavidDevaneyJr » Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:34 pm

Thanks for your patience with these builds. Finally, the new development versions of the following products are available for download:

HanDBase for Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
HanDBase Plus for Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
HanDBase Professional for Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
HanDBase Enterprise for Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)

The items fixed can be found in this knowledgebase article.
http://www.ddhsoftware.com/knowledgebase.html?read=323

Please note the Warning at the beginning of the Installation and contact us if you have any questions before proceeding.

This build should be more compatible with computers running Windows Vista or that have limited Permissions. If you are still experiencing problems with this, particularly with UAC enabled in Vista, please let us know so we can look into this.

Answers to common questions:
What is a development version?

A development version is like a public beta version. When we make significant changes to a program that is not part of a major update (eg, 4.0, 5.0), we like to make sure that no new problems surfaced in the fixes we made. While we did test this application in house and with testers, it's best to keep the current release version as the current release, and only those who are needing some of the above changes can take the initiative to download the development version. Should you run into any issues, you can always come back to the Registered User's page and download the current release version to get back to where you were before. As with any update, I'd suggest backing up all your files before performing the update.

How do I get the development version?

Log into the Registered users page:
http://www.ddhsoftware.com/download
Username: Your email address
Password: what password you were given at purchase (not your license key). If you don't have this, click the lost password option on the above page and we'll email it to you.

Next to each product you'll see the Download button- that is NOT the one you want as it's the latest release version. Instead, select the option under the words: Latest Development Version: 4.1.5 build D1 to download. That will get you the installer for the development version!

Why was the bug xxx I reported not fixed in this version?

This version addresses most all bugs we were able to verify and duplicate in house. If we can't duplicate the bug we can't fix it. If your submission was not verified, chances are we emailed you back to say we needed more help duplicating the issue on our end. If we didn't, there is a chance we missed it or it fell through the crack. If so, very sorry about that. Feel free to comment in this topic if this is the case, and I can comment on that particular issue or follow up with you.

Is this going to be the release version?

If we find no issues, or can fix any small remaining bugs or issues without any major changes, we will likely just release the slightly fixed version in a few weeks. If there are any significant issues, we'll likely release another development version before the release version.

Hope this version works well for you!
Regards,
David Devaney, Jr.
DavidDevaneyJr
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 11:01 pm
Location: Lake Worth, FL

Re: HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby griffinr » Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:50 am

Thanks for the upgrade Dave.

I'm haveing an installation issue. The install process doesn't see my phone (Moto Q9c). I have it connected through Windows Mobile Device Center (Vista) and I'm able to sync so I know it's being seen.
griffinr
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 6:32 am

Re: HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby DavidDevaneyJr » Mon Aug 17, 2009 12:13 pm

griffinr wrote:Thanks for the upgrade Dave.

I'm haveing an installation issue. The install process doesn't see my phone (Moto Q9c). I have it connected through Windows Mobile Device Center (Vista) and I'm able to sync so I know it's being seen.


I'm sorry you are having issues. Can you answer the following questions so we can try to track down the problem?

1. Being that you are on Vista, do you have User Account Control (UAC) still enabled?
2. Does your Windows user have Administrator privileges?
3. Were you able to install the current Release build without any issues?
4. If you open the HanDBase Desktop and go to the File menu and choose Open do you see your Moto Q9c user listed in the Select a User drop down box?
5. Are there any users listed in the box the comes up for you to select the user to install the software?

If the answer to #5 was yes and you see a user something like WindowsMobile### then that is likely your user. Windows Mobile Device Center doesn't fill in a particular registry key that we read for the username, at least for certain devices. Also, the way the new Add/Remove programs works for Windows Mobile Device Center it's not actually necessary to even select the proper user, as long as your device is connected during install. You can select whatever user is listed and click Continue to have the software be installed.

If the answer to #5 was no, while we try to figure out the problem you can manually install the software to your device by copying the CAB file you will find in C:\Program Files\HanDBase4\WMSP\ to your device using the Explore option in WMDC. Copy it to your My Documents folder then use the File Explorer on the device to navigate there and launch the CAB to install it.
Regards,
David Devaney, Jr.
DavidDevaneyJr
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 11:01 pm
Location: Lake Worth, FL

Re: HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby griffinr » Tue Aug 18, 2009 7:54 am

Thanks for your help David. I got to tell you this is getting very frustrating.

1. I do have UAC activated. It's required by my company.
2. I don't have administrator privileges but I had an admin login during the install.
3. No, it never set up the conduit or installed HDB on my phone.
4. Yes.
5. No. I had to install the program on my phone manually.

When I would try to sync/install DB's to device, I would get an error message saying it couldn't find HDBSync in the Documents/HanDBase/WindowsMobile folder.
I created this path, copied the file from the Program Files/HanDbase4/ActiveSync folder.
Now when I try to install a DB to the device it lets me select the phone but then tells me that it is Unable to install file. Gives me the path to the DB file and the device name.
griffinr
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 6:32 am

Re: HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby DavidDevaneyJr » Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:45 am

griffinr wrote:Thanks for your help David. I got to tell you this is getting very frustrating.

1. I do have UAC activated. It's required by my company.
2. I don't have administrator privileges but I had an admin login during the install.
3. No, it never set up the conduit or installed HDB on my phone.
4. Yes.
5. No. I had to install the program on my phone manually.

When I would try to sync/install DB's to device, I would get an error message saying it couldn't find HDBSync in the Documents/HanDBase/WindowsMobile folder.
I created this path, copied the file from the Program Files/HanDbase4/ActiveSync folder.
Now when I try to install a DB to the device it lets me select the phone but then tells me that it is Unable to install file. Gives me the path to the DB file and the device name.


I'm very sorry this is so frustrating. It's frustrating on our end as well with the Vista UAC stuff.

As far as the installing, I can see you getting an error if there were no successful sync prior to installing that would have created the folders in the Documents folder. As far as copying the files from C:\Program Files\HanDBase4\Activesync\, when you copy them is there an Install folder in ..\Documents\HanDBase4\WindowsMobile\USERNAME\?

Can you also check the Conduit Options. If you go to your Start Menu and select the HanDBase 4 folder then go to Synchronization, select Windows Mobile and choose Conduit Options, do you see your username listed there under ActiveSync user, or is it greyed out?

I'm personally working on testing this and am having issues myself with UAC enabled. I'm trying to figure out the issues so we can resolve them.
Regards,
David Devaney, Jr.
DavidDevaneyJr
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 11:01 pm
Location: Lake Worth, FL

Re: HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby griffinr » Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:01 am

I have managed to get the new directory structure created. Documents/WindowsMobile/Motorola23. I opened my DB's and installed each of them to my phone. I can make changes on the desktop that will synd however, If I make changes on the phone they do not sync back to the desktop.

ActiveSync for user: Motorola23
2009-08-19 09-46-00: HanDBase error syncing 'ATS_Requisition':
- Could not read handheld database
2009-08-19 09-46-02: HanDBase error syncing 'ATS_Security':
- Could not read handheld database
2009-08-19 09-46-02: 0 HanDBase databases synchronized (4.02)
griffinr
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 6:32 am

Re: HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby DavidDevaneyJr » Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:41 pm

griffinr wrote:I have managed to get the new directory structure created. Documents/WindowsMobile/Motorola23. I opened my DB's and installed each of them to my phone. I can make changes on the desktop that will synd however, If I make changes on the phone they do not sync back to the desktop.

ActiveSync for user: Motorola23
2009-08-19 09-46-00: HanDBase error syncing 'ATS_Requisition':
- Could not read handheld database
2009-08-19 09-46-02: HanDBase error syncing 'ATS_Security':
- Could not read handheld database
2009-08-19 09-46-02: 0 HanDBase databases synchronized (4.02)


I was able to reproduce this error today and it's related to UAC and being a standard user. The developer is looking into this now. The only workaround for this at this point would be to run the Conduit As Administrator. Either having the Admin enable that in the C:\Program Files\HanDBase4\HDBSync.exe file properties or right clicking on the Synchronize Device icon on your Start menu under Programs--HanDBase 4--Synchronization--Windows Mobile.

As far as your user not being listed during the install I believe I've figured out that problem as well, I just need to test under a Standard user account. If you'd be willing to do that though I can send you a new build tomorrow with what I believe will fix that.

Thanks again for your patience.
Regards,
David Devaney, Jr.
DavidDevaneyJr
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 11:01 pm
Location: Lake Worth, FL

Re: HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby griffinr » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:48 am

I'd be glad to help out.

It's starting to be a big issue not being able to sync data between my phone and laptop.

Thanks for your help,

Bob
griffinr
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 6:32 am

Re: HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby griffinr » Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:05 am

David,

How are we doing on this?

Bob
griffinr
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 6:32 am

Re: HanDBase 4.1.5 Development Version Released

Postby dhaupert » Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:44 am

griffinr wrote:David,

How are we doing on this?

Bob


Working on it- we'll definitely update you when we have a new a development version to try! Thanks for your patience.
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am


Return to HanDBase for Windows Mobile Standard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest