sync failure

Discussion of HanDBase running on Windows Mobile Standard (formerly Smartphones) devices and syncing with desktop computers.

sync failure

Postby sawbones66 » Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:10 am

Addicted to small databases for everyday use. HanDBase was useful years ago with Palm devices, so I thought I'd give it a try with Windows. Using Vista and just purchased/ downloaded the HanDBAse Professional for Wind Mobile Standard. Have an HTC Ozone. I can get data from the laptop to the phone occasionally, but not vice-versa and certainly not seamlessly. I first tried a Trial Ver and had the same trouble so I thought purchasing could make a difference and at least feel I could ask a question.

Synch problem gives the following message:

ActiveSync for user: HTC27
2010-05-31 23-27-48: HanDBase error syncing 'General_Pharmacy':
- Could not read handheld database
2010-05-31 23-27-48: HanDBase error syncing 'Places':
- Could not read handheld database
2010-05-31 23-27-48: 0 HanDBase databases synchronized (4.02)

Pretty crazy program working w/ Windows. Hides the data files everywhere and the pdf. instructions are likewise all over the place with each snippet of program. Hard to know how to start to make sure all is set up correctly. I uninstalled several times and started from scratch, but I know there were left over files b/c it suggests deleted database.

Need some help and a starting point if anyone has suggestion.
sawbones.
sawbones66
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:58 pm

Re: sync failure

Postby dhaupert » Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:50 am

Hi there,

Thanks for writing. The error message you received sounds like one related to Vista. With Vista there are two items that can interfere this way with syncing:

1. On prior versions of Windows, the default user had administrative privileges. In Vista this is not the case. Do you know if the user that you are syncing with has Administrative privileges?

2. Under Vista, they created a security layer called User Access Control (UAC). This shows itself as a prompt that asks you if you want to run certain things with certain privileges. It gets pretty annoying and sometimes users will turn it off. When they do that it doesn't just give all apps permission, it fails them silently. So basically this has to be on and you have to provide permission for the sync to occur.

Let me know what you find after checking the above!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: sync failure

Postby sawbones66 » Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:51 pm

I am not sure just what you are asking me to do. I am the admin on this computer, but I do have to approve actions and, in fact, to install HanDBase, I had to "run as Admin".

I am not sure if you are saying that I have to turn off the security layer (and I don't know how to do so), or whether there is a way to run the sync as the admin.

Does the HanDBase sync have anything to do with the windows mobile device center? Or is this a separate sync operation.

Thanks
sawbones66
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:58 pm

Re: sync failure

Postby dhaupert » Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:30 am

Hi,

My prior response was a fact-finding one, wanted to hear back from you rather than have you try things! I see now that you are running as admin already and it seems that you have UAC turned on as you're being prompted. The next question is what version of HanDBase you are running. You can check this by going to the HanDBase Desktop and choosing Help, About. There is a section listing the packages you have installed and their version numbers. That, not the version number of the desktop program is what I'm after.

Let me know!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: sync failure

Postby sawbones66 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:53 pm

I have Version 4.1.0... It notes HanDBase Professional for Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone) Build 4.1 R4

Thanks!

Sawbones
sawbones66
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:58 pm

Re: sync failure

Postby dhaupert » Fri Jun 04, 2010 1:30 am

Hi there,

That is not the latest version I see on the site. I recall us making some changes to the installer that addressed some permissions issues. Please try downloading the latest and greatest from:

http://www.ddhsoftware.com/download

Let me know what you find!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: sync failure

Postby sawbones66 » Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:29 pm

With the fresh download, I seem to be "in sync". Now if I only knew why???. I note there are several .pdf files for HanDbase. Is there a best sequence to read up on the functionality? Though it seems intuitive, it is really doing what it wants (when to back up etc.). Is there any relationship to the Windows Mobile Device Center or is the Sync Center on the task bar the controlling program? Thanks again.

Gotta love databases....

And Blessings to you
Sawbones
sawbones66
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:58 pm

Re: sync failure

Postby dhaupert » Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:34 am

Hi again,

Glad that worked. I do believe we fixed a few incompatibilities with the locations where we were putting files so that Vista and Windows 7 would not subordinate us and limit what permissions we had. That is likely what fixed the problem for you!

Regarding documentation, you are right that there are a lot of different documentation to read. The user guide here would be your best first place to start:
http://www.ddhsoftware.com/docs/HanDBaseManualWMSP.pdf

For syncing, this would be the best place to read:
http://www.ddhsoftware.com/docs/HanDBaseConduitPPC.pdf

Beyond that, any questions should be found answered in the knowledgebase on our site. If not, feel free to post a followup here and I'll be glad to help!

To answer your last question, we are not an activesync conduit service, but do communicate through activesync to the device to access the data stored on it. So ActiveSync and Windows Mobile Device Center (which is the new name for the same product as activesync (basically)) are required to be installed. But our application can be called via the Start menu as long as the device is connected. Also, depending on the option you picked during installation, ActiveSync can call us when the device is first connected to your computer, so it appears to happen along with the ActiveSync. Hope this makes sense!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am


Return to HanDBase for Windows Mobile Standard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron