Sync with a server

This forum is for application developers who are integrating HanDBase into their solutions via the HanDBase API (HAPI) or other means. It's also a great place to discuss runtime development.

Sync with a server

Postby michele » Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:11 am

Hi, guys.
I'm trying to figure out how to integrate your solution in an application that manages the maintenance.
I'm going crazy but I just can not figure out how to configure the automatic device sync with Android.
If I click on Sync (on Android) i get only the link for the desktop application (no action is performed).
I want that the user launch the Sync on the Android device (He click and the sync start).

Else i do not see how integrate the application in a professional Environment .

Thanks
Michele
michele
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:04 am

Re: Sync with a server

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sat Aug 15, 2015 11:05 am

Hi Michele,

Thanks for posting.

What type of server are you wanting to sync with?
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: Sync with a server

Postby michele » Sun Aug 16, 2015 1:35 am

The server is SQL server, on windows 2012 server.
But this is not the problem i can add any db on this server and i can do the job to update this new db with sql (i can write some script or few line of code to handle that).
The problem is how the people that use android can start the sync process.
I do not find any option on the android side to start the sync.
In the app that i buy on play store there is only one button for the sync and when a click on it, i see only the information about the address to put on the desktop manager to start the sync (from the desktop).
Is like if in your architecture is possible to start the sync only from the desktop side.
I need that the user start the sync from is mobile when is necessary .
(My application on android work in that way ,,, i start my job so i sync my app with all new ticket .. i work i close al ticket then any time i close a ticket a sync the db with the server db)
Anyway any other suggestion will be appreciate.

Thanks
Michele
michele
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:04 am

Re: Sync with a server

Postby Gab-Hop » Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:14 am

Handbase is not yet set up to do the sync using only the device
Although there is talk of a cloud sync soon to be setup for the ios platforms

I am a long time handbase user and have set up my own system to sync using only the android device to accomplish this
It is a bit of a work around, but for me still a lot better than going to the desktop every time i need to sync
It requires installing a small program on the desktop (auto hot key) this allows me to create a script file which means i can start the desktop sync for any specific user with just one press of a button on the desktop
Then i installed a remote desktop app on each device (thinstuff RDP) some remote desktop apps will work some will not
To start the sync
On the device i will first press the handbase sync button, then go to the remote desktop app, log in to the desktop, press the desktop sync key, then return to the handbase screen and i can see the device syncing
I hope you can understand
I can post the auto hot key script file if anyone is interested?
Gab-Hop
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:34 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Sync with a server

Postby michele » Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:35 am

Thanks for your quickly answer .. but this is not a professional solution is like one home made solution and is very nice how you work around ...
but i cant sale one application to a customer with this kind of patch ...
I was thinking that enterprise solution was for enterprise company ,,,

Ciao
Michele
michele
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:04 am

Re: Sync with a server

Postby michele » Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:38 am

Gab-
there is one other solution ... replace the db on the mobile.
Writing few line of code with one application that reload the db from a repository and replace the db on the device.
Is not quite complicate ,,, but is not integrate with hansdatabase
michele
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:04 am


Return to HanDBase - Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron