Menu at top of list missing on Android Device

Discuss plans for a future version of HanDBase for the Google Android platform

Menu at top of list missing on Android Device

Postby lakey » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:50 am

Hi,

I have developed a data capture application using HanDBase and have it running on iOS devices and Android devices. One Android device is a Samsung 7.0 Galaxy Plus that is a few years old and is running version 3.2 of the Android O/S. Another is a Samsung Note4 running Android version 5.0. On the Note 4 at the top of a listing of records in a database there is a small Display that has a HanDBase icon on the left, a display showing how many records are in the current view and how many records total in the database and then on the right there is an icon that has 3 squares stacked vertically that when tapped opens a menu that provides for a number of options - sorting, filters, deleting records, etc.

On the iOS devices at the bottom of lists is a wrench icon that provides pretty much the same capabilities. However on the Samsung 7.0 Galaxy Plus, there doesn't seem to be any similar option. Both Android devices are using HanDBase 4.6.316. Any thoughts on where the options can be found on the tablet?

Thanks,

Larry
lakey
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 5:38 pm

Re: Menu at top of list missing on Android Device

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sat Apr 25, 2015 12:55 pm

Hi Larry,

Thanks for writing.

Samsung devices that have a dedicated menu button at the bottom will not display the three dot menu item in action bar of the program.

There is a workaround, but it does require your device to be rooted and running Xposed. I can point you in the right direction if your device meets these criteria.
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: Menu at top of list missing on Android Device

Postby DavidDevaneyJr » Fri May 01, 2015 1:52 am

Based on this video...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPLry393yE0

Pressing and holding the soft button mentioned may work.

In the attached image I've circled the soft button icon that you may be able to tap and hold to display the Options/Menu/Settings.
Attachments
SamsungMenu.jpg
SamsungMenu.jpg (43.7 KiB) Viewed 722 times
Regards,
David Devaney, Jr.
DavidDevaneyJr
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 11:01 pm
Location: Lake Worth, FL


Return to HanDBase for Android

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron