New to HanDBase

Discussions for the HanDBase for iPad and it's conduits and desktop add-ons

New to HanDBase

Postby chuxtable » Wed Mar 28, 2012 6:36 pm

I am new to HanDBase and am interested in how it will perform as a vegetation field data collection platform used on an iPad. What I need is a database with the capability of linking to GPS/G3 to spatilly reference sites. I have been using ArcPad on a Trimble Juno with a degree of success, however am attracted to the larger screen on an iPad.
What I want to be able to do is:

1. Have a database (preferably a geodatabase, or at least one which can import spatial coordinates into specified fields). Is it possible to link HanDBase to a geospatial reference, maybe with a link to a program such as GISRoam?

2. I need to have linked tables and forms that will allow one-to-many relationships to be established, eg. at a single site, there are some features that are only entered once (one-to-one relationship), such as date and recorder; and some where there are many, eg. recording a list of species that are found at the site - could be up to 50

3. I want to be able to select plant species from a large list - several thousand - is this possible in HanDBase. I was wondering if the long list could be sourced from an external web page

4. Is it possible to create dependant lists in HanDBase, so that the second list will be populated based on what was selected in the first list. This would be particularly useful for large lists of plant names, which comprise 2 arts - a genus and a species. There are many different genera, and some genera contain many different species. With a dependant lists, list 1 would contain the genus names, and list 2 would contain only those species from the genus selected in list 1
chuxtable

Re: New to HanDBase

Postby dhaupert » Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:23 am