User friendly record selection with external field - how?

Discussions for the HanDBase for iPad and it's conduits and desktop add-ons

User friendly record selection with external field - how?

Postby wosim » Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:41 am

I have got a large database "Database1" with over 35.000 items.

Every entry has an unique identifier like this: H-1501-1318-42873. Problem is, that I know, what it represents, but other users don't. So I tried the following:

- I created a new database "Database2", with one form for entering the relevant information with the following fields:

- Enter "H" for xy or "I" for xz: x (Text)
- Enter Ident-number 1: xxxx (Pop-Up)
- Enter Ident-number 2: xxxx (Pop-Up)
- Enter Item-number: xxxxxx (Text)

With two external fields ("result_1" and "result_2" - due to the limitation of 3 entries, that can be combined in each external field) the user-entries are combined to this: H-1501-1318-42873 (in the field "result_2").

In a relationship field "final_result" (related field: "result_2" - other database: "Database1", field in other database: "ID", first matching record) the connection between the two databases.

Problem is now, that I have to push the button "OK" to save the entries, otherwise the value of a previous search remains in the field "final_result". But if I push the button "OK" the form is closed and the list-view opens. So the user has to tap the list view for returning to the search form. Only then pushing the button "final_result" opens the searched item in the list-view of Database1. For most (occasional) users this would be much to complicated.

So it would be fantastic having a possibility to save the record within the form without closing it (separate button or even better combining two actions in a relationship field).

Maybe I am doing something wrong and there is a work around? If so, I would be really happy!

Best regards and thanks for that great piece of software!

wosim
wosim
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 5:56 am

Re: User friendly record selection with external field - how

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sat Nov 23, 2013 8:36 am

Hi Wosim,

Thanks for posting.

There is not an option to force the saving of a record without closing it.
You might test the following option in settings to see if it makes any difference for you though: Recalculate on Relationship Lookup

If you go to the database selection drawer of your iPad and tap the Settings button, which resembles an gear, you will find the setting referenced above.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: User friendly record selection with external field - how

Postby ruimac » Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:39 pm

I searched for that option but I just can't find it.
Did something changed in the meanwhile?
ruimac
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:18 am

Re: User friendly record selection with external field - how

Postby Brian_Houghton » Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:28 am

You should find it here:

1. Open HanDBase
2. Open the database selection screen
3. Tap on the settings icon (it resembles a gear)
4. Tap on HanDBase Settings
5. You will now see a list of options (you may need to scroll to find the recalculate option)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: User friendly record selection with external field - how

Postby ruimac » Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:53 pm

Nope. It is not there.
I scrolled up and down and there is no such option.
Could it be that the iPad version is different, somehow?
ruimac
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:18 am

Re: User friendly record selection with external field - how

Postby dhaupert » Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:29 pm

Indeed the option Brian is referring to is an Android option, not an iOS version. Sorry!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: User friendly record selection with external field - how

Postby ruimac » Wed Feb 26, 2014 5:35 pm

Will it be added in a future version for iOS?
ruimac
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:18 am

Re: User friendly record selection with external field - how

Postby dhaupert » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:46 am

That option may be added on iOS, but it doesn't actually do what was inferred in the above posts. The option has strictly to do with calculated fields and does not re-concatenate external text fields. It only applies to calculated and conditional fields. Plus it would not apply to the record being edited anyway!

What you would need is something where the external field does it's magic after each related field is changed while editing, or a button to force this to happen. Either could potentially be added to a future version of the program. Nothing on the immediate radar for this however, but I'll definitely address it at some point!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: User friendly record selection with external field - how

Postby ruimac » Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:17 am

It is great to know that.
It could simply be an action to be assigned to a button. Meaning that it could "simply" be an action to be added to the action list.

Rui Batista
ruimac
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:18 am


Return to HanDBase for iPad

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests