New user- using filter on relationship field

Discussions for the HanDBase for iPad and it's conduits and desktop add-ons

New user- using filter on relationship field

Postby Beejay » Sat Nov 15, 2014 3:12 pm

Hi I am new to this db but have experience in other databases.
I have set up a relationship field which contains names from another database but when I try to use the filter on this field nothing is selected.
Is it possible to do this or is it not possible with a relationship?
Beejay

Re: New user- using filter on relationship field

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sun Nov 23, 2014 10:33 am

Hi,

It is possible as I use the feature frequently. Very sorry that it is not working for you.

If possible, could you send me a copy of your databases so I can double check them here? If so, please send both databases to me at support @ ddhsoftware . com (minus the spaces) with a brief reminder of the issue.
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton

Postby Beejay » Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:18 pm

Thanks Brian for your response but I don't think I explained the problem too well and I think I have found a solution within the existing posts.
The databases I have imported (they were previously tables in an access db) consist of data I have transcribed from air ministry operations records from the Second World War for a specific squadron.
In one database I have a list of all the airmen and in another I have a list of all the crews flying each aircraft. Each record in the crews database contains 11 links to the airmen database (the number of airmen in a crew of one aircraft).

A simple example is as follows:
Airmen database
Id name
1 Smith
2 Jones
3 Johnson
4 Evans

A single record in the crews database could be
Ref pilot navigator gunner bomb-aimer
23 2 3 1 4

I then added relationship fields for each crew member so the same record then looks like
Ref pilot navigator gunner bomb-aimer p2 n2 g2 b2
23 2 3 1 4 Jones Johnson Smith Evans