Synch trouble

Discussion of the version of HanDBase that runs on the iPhone and iPod touch devices. This includes the synchronization conduits as well.

Synch trouble

Postby Woody » Thu Aug 13, 2009 12:49 am

I have reviewed the knowledge section and I think that I have been able to establish an Ad Hoc connection because there is a check mark on the Iphone in the wifi connections page and windows vista indicates an Ad hoc connection with rate 54 and a strong connection. File sharing is turned on.

The iphone however, still shows a 3g connection rather than the wifi signal and when I touch the desktop connection symbol in the Handbase application a message pops up telling me that I need to establish a wifi connection first. How do I troubleshoot this problem? I am new to wifi connections.
Woody

Re: Synch trouble

Postby dhaupert » Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:50 pm

Woody wrote:I have reviewed the knowledge section and I think that I have been able to establish an Ad Hoc connection because there is a check mark on the Iphone in the wifi connections page and windows vista indicates an Ad hoc connection with rate 54 and a strong connection. File sharing is turned on.

The iphone however, still shows a 3g connection rather than the wifi signal and when I touch the desktop connection symbol in the Handbase application a message pops up telling me that I need to establish a wifi connection first. How do I troubleshoot this problem? I am new to wifi connections.

Hi,

The iPhone is supposed to let the Wifi signal trump the 3G signal. That is, if you are in a 3G connection area but are also connected to wifi, the wifi connection will be used and not the 3G connection. Technically, you are connected via 3G while connected via wifi, but it will use the wifi and not the 3G connection. So I'm not sure why the iPhone doesn't believe that it's wifi should be connected but not the main connection.