Page 1 of 1

numeric keyboard is displayed

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:50 pm
by glenwf
I'm wondering about the statement on pg 48 of the
HanDBaseforiPhoneUserGuide
This states:
Integer Fields
Numeral values with popups for your most common values. This is different from the Text field mainly in the sorting of entries, and that it's popups can be numerically sorted. In addition, the numeric keyboard is displayed when editing this field type.

When I edit an integer field, the text keyboard pops up and I have to select the numeric keyboard. It sounds like the above says it should pop up the numeric keyboard (not a numeric keypad which has to be designed).

Am I missing a setting to save me the extra step of selecting the ABC button to get the numeric keypad?

HanDBase for iPhone, 4.9.03
iOS 7.0.3

Thanks.
Glen

Re: numeric keyboard is displayed

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:40 pm
by dhaupert
Hi Glen,

Hope you don't mind that I moved your post to the right topic!

If you are using the Edit Record screen, the correct keyboard should display automatically. If you are using a custom designed form, you'll have to specify which keyboard to show in the settings. It's in the control's settings under Attributes and defaults to the text keyboard, so chances are you just need to go in and change it to numeric for your integer values!

Re: numeric keyboard is displayed

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 12:20 pm
by glenwf
Thanks. It was a form and I found the option. GREAT!

Re: numeric keyboard is displayed

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:17 am
by patrickwest
Folks
Is the numeric keyboard iOS or Handbase?

If handbase please think about a tab button allowing one to go directly to the next field on a form .




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: numeric keyboard is displayed

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:45 am
by Brian_Houghton
patrickwest wrote:Folks
Is the numeric keyboard iOS or Handbase?

If handbase please think about a tab button allowing one to go directly to the next field on a form .




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


The keyboard is iOS.

I *think* I recall Dave mentioning that with iOS an app can request certain keys to be visible. I'll check with him if I am remembering correctly, and if so, will get this on the feature request list.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD