Page 1 of 1

Difference between Overwrite & One-way sync settings

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:44 pm
by ArGiEs
Hello,

In the sync settings in the HanDBase desktop, what is the difference in action between the options labeled One-way sync and Overwrites options (e. g. One-way sync: iPhone records to desktop only, and iPhone data overwrites desktop)?

Re: Difference between Overwrite & One-way sync settings

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:22 am
by Brian_Houghton
Hi,

Great question!

With the one way sync, data that is updated on the iPhone is synced to the desktop. The record incoming from the iPhone will overwrite the record on the desktop. Data that is updated on the desktop, however, is not synced to the iPhone. If you do not modify a record on the iPhone, that record on the desktop remains unchanged.

With the overwrites option, all of the records on the iPhone replace all of the records on the desktop with each sync.

The benefit of the former is that as long as you don't modify a record on the iPhone, the desktop data stays intact. You could think of this option as a contextual overwrite - if no changes are made to a record, no overwrite occurs.

The benefit of the latter is that the desktop records are essentially deleted and readded with each sync.

There are situations where each is useful, and that is something you would need to evaluate based on your particular needs.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD