Sync Problem

Discussion of HanDBase running on Windows Mobile Classic and Professional (formerly Pocket PC) devices and smartphones and syncing with a desktop computer.

Sync Problem

Postby zooguy1492 » Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:33 pm

I had to reinstall my HanDBase software on my Windows Mobile device after reinstalling the OS and now when I do a sync, it is not automatically syncing. I can go to "Synchronize Device" program in the Start Menu of my Windows Desktop machine and the device syncs without problem. Why isn't it syncing automatically?

Also, when I initially installed HanDBase, my device was called pda_paul, but now it is called "WM_paul". Both appear in my HanDBase "Conduit Options" window. Is there a way to remove my old device name?

Paul P.
zooguy1492
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:18 pm

Re: Sync Problem

Postby dhaupert » Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:42 pm

Hi Paul,

Thanks for your post. Unfortunately, the option to auto sync is something we only let you adjust during install. Something I'd like to change, but in the interim, you can run the installer again and you'll see the prompt with a checkbox for whether to sync on device connect. You should not lose any data by reinstalling as it's all kept separate.

Regarding the Windows Mobile device names, we get those from the registry via the ActiveSync/WMDC keys. You can delete them only by deleting the user in ActiveSync or Windows Mobile Device center. When you are in that program, there is a way to switch via a file menu to a different partnership. From there, you can then select the option to delete the partnership and we'll no longer show that user in our prompts.

Hope this helps!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Sync Problem

Postby zooguy1492 » Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:47 pm

Similar question to my original. I recently changed PC which I used to sync too. I ran the install program (to install the desktop application on my PC) and I thought the "auto sync" check box was checked but it still doesn't sync unless I explicitly call the Handbase sync program. During the install process, I elected not to install (new) software on my Windows Mobile device since I figured it already had the software installed. My PC now has Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate running on it. It uses Windows Mobile Device Center instead of ActiveSync.

How do I get the databases to sync automatically?

Paul P.
zooguy1492
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:18 pm


Return to HanDBase for Windows Mobile Classic and Professional

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest