Page 1 of 2

Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:15 pm
by highwaysguy
Hello,

I built some HanDBase files with the desktop manager and our staff use them without any issues on iOS. However, one staff member has an android phone, and our databases aren't displaying properly on his screen.

Image

Does anyone know what could be causing the text size to be excessively large (or the rows to be excessively small)? As well, does anyone know what is causing the text to not wrap on a new line as it does in the iOS client?

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 2:49 pm
by Brian_Houghton
Hi,

Thanks for posting.

This issue can occur when using a high density screen on certain devices. We are looking into a fix, but in the meantime, try the following:

- return to the database selection screen
- tap Menu
- tap Preferences
- decrease the list view font size

You can also experiment with different fonts and font sizes if you use a Samsung device.

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:25 pm
by highwaysguy
Thanks for the reply Brian. One other question - he doesn't get the popup, when emailing files, to choose between .csv and .txt, does the Android app not have .csv functionality?

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:31 am
by Brian_Houghton
Hi,

CSV functionality is there but it is implemented slightly differently.

To export to CSV:

- open HanDBase to the database selection screen
- tap and hold on the database name
- when the management popup appears tap on the Export option

To import from CSV:

- open HanDBase to the database selection screen
- tap and hold on the database name
- when the management popup appears tap on the Import option
- choose the CSV file to import

Hope this helps.

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 10:28 am
by epb613
FYI, I'm having the same issue on my new Samsung Galaxy S6. I set the font size down to 15 which works for the time being, but it's hard to see. I'm guessing it has to do with the quad-HD display.

As always, thanks for all your hard work. I couldn't survive without HandBase! :)

Pinny

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 10:01 am
by aa6vhDave
I have to set my font size all the way down to 12 to get it to look good on my Samsung GS5.

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 11:31 am
by wwwalton
Just to keep this active, using Droid Turbo lollipop and font size is most difficult and if make larger, it is cut off. Since I have had HandBase on PalmOS, Windows, PocketPC, IOS, would like to continue, please fix this as soon as possible; would be most appreciated.
Thanks,
-walt

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 1:14 pm
by lindau
wwwalton wrote:Just to keep this active, using Droid Turbo lollipop and font size is most difficult and if make larger, it is cut off. Since I have had HandBase on PalmOS, Windows, PocketPC, IOS, would like to continue, please fix this as soon as possible; would be most appreciated.
Thanks,
-walt


I agree!!!!! Droid Turbo Lollipop
Can't make the font size small enough to see the descenders.

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:09 pm
by MikeS
Same problem on an HTC One M9.
I just came here to learn how to adjust the row height only to find It's been a problem for years.

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 1:44 pm
by Brian_Houghton
MikeS wrote:Same problem on an HTC One M9.
I just came here to learn how to adjust the row height only to find It's been a problem for years.


Please contact us at support @ ddhsoftware . com if you would like to try a beta version that addresses this issue.