Page 1 of 1

Link data from one DB to another

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:38 pm
by Mnbvoj
I'm wondering if it's possible to copy data from a couple of fields of one DB to the same fields in another DB. I enter data in one DB, and have a field that if selected, opens another DB. Some fields in the 2nd DB are the same as the 1st DB. Can't the info I installed in the 1st populate those fields in the 2nd? I've tried Link, Linked & Relationship, without any luck.

Re: Link data from one DB to another

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:49 pm
by ddhsoftwareadmin
Hi there,

Thanks for your post. The DB Popup field is the one that is closest to what you describe. It creates what looks and behaves like a text field but when you select the drop down button it shows you the list of records in a related table. Tapping a record in that table will copy the value for the field you assigned in the setup into the first database. And there is a group feature where you can set up a group of db popup fields that all get copied when one is selected.

More info here;

http://www.ddhsoftware.com/knowledgebase.html?read=253

Hope this helps!

Re: Link data from one DB to another

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:23 am
by Veritas
I have been working on databases where I need to extract information from 23 fields in one database to another using then dB popup group function. The problem is that it only extracts the info from the first 10. Is there a limit for extracting info or am I doing something wrong?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Link data from one DB to another

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 2:54 pm
by curtterp
Veritas wrote:I have been working on databases where I need to extract information from 23 fields in one database to another using then dB popup group function. The problem is that it only extracts the info from the first 10. Is there a limit for extracting info or am I doing something wrong?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I am assuming that you are working with HanDBase on your iPhone.

The following is from the iPhone user documentation

Maximum number of DB popups in a group: 10

Re: Link data from one DB to another

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 4:34 pm
by Veritas
curtterp wrote:
Veritas wrote:I have been working on databases where I need to extract information from 23 fields in one database to another using then dB popup group function. The problem is that it only extracts the info from the first 10. Is there a limit for extracting info or am I doing something wrong?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I am assuming that you are working with HanDBase on your iPhone.

The following is from the iPhone user documentation

Maximum number of DB popups in a group: 10


Thank you for your answer. I figured as much, just wanted to make sure.
Then there’s one more thing I would wish for in the next update: increase the number of dB popups in a group. The other thing is increase number of fields :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Link data from one DB to another

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:09 pm
by nateliv
There are following options available:

- If databases are on the same server then use SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS) or Transact-SQL (insert into table2 select * from database2.dbo.table1)

If databases are on different servers then

- Create a linked server and access data from another SQL Server by using SSMS or TSQL.
- Backup source database, copy it to the destination server, restore as a new database and access data with SSMS or TSQL (insert into table2 select * from database2.dbo.table1)
- Create an export script for source database or table (e.g. using SSMS, right click on db, Tasks, Export Data), run it against target server and then access data with SSMS or TSQL

The best and easiest way in case of different servers is the one with linked server, but this option is not always possible due to security reasons.

Re: Link data from one DB to another

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:34 am
by niamishra
- Make a connected server and access information from another SQL Server by utilizing SMS or TSQL.

- Reinforcement source database, duplicate it to the goal server, reestablish as another database and access information with SSMS or T-SQL (embed into table2 select * from database2.dbo.table1)

- Make a fare content for source database or table (for example utilizing SSMS, right snap on DB, Undertakings, Fare Information), run it against target server and after that get to information with SSMS or TSQ

Re: Link data from one DB to another

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:16 am
by fdsawer
Great Information