S60 Field Display (Only) on Phone?

Discuss HanDBase running on S60 devices by Nokia, Samsung and others.

S60 Field Display (Only) on Phone?

Postby CarlCass » Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:44 am

Possibly newbie questions easily answered with rtm but I cannot seem to find any direct reference to this and, since S60 lacks a form designer (?) here goes:

I do a lot of my in-the-field database work on my (fairly new) Nokia E63. I am accustomed to using a Palm where there was more "real estate" to display a record and a means to flip the "page" to the next or previous record within the database (using SplashID, Contacts, etc.).

My E63 (and E71x) displays a maximum of 3 fields (with labels) for a record. Period.

Finally my questions:
1.) Is there a means to design a form or change a program setting that would show 8 (or even 6?) fields without the fieldnames onscreen at the same time? I'd call this a "Raw" display.

2). Is there a key combination that would allow me to flip to the next or previous record without returning to the index display?

Thanks for a great product - it fills the gap for the many of the "missing" apps I became dependent on in the Palm world.
History: 1984 Casio Digital Diarys & Sharp Wizards, Palm 500 & Pro & IIIc, Compaq Aero 1100/1250, Treo90, Tungsten C & Treo 700p, Nokia E63 / E71x, Samsung Galaxy S & Nexus (CM) & now LG Nexus 4 (CM)
CarlCass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:23 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: S60 Field Display (Only) on Phone?

Postby DavidDevaneyJr » Fri Aug 28, 2009 2:06 pm

CarlCass wrote:Possibly newbie questions easily answered with rtm but I cannot seem to find any direct reference to this and, since S60 lacks a form designer (?) here goes:

I do a lot of my in-the-field database work on my (fairly new) Nokia E63. I am accustomed to using a Palm where there was more "real estate" to display a record and a means to flip the "page" to the next or previous record within the database (using SplashID, Contacts, etc.).

My E63 (and E71x) displays a maximum of 3 fields (with labels) for a record. Period.

Finally my questions:
1.) Is there a means to design a form or change a program setting that would show 8 (or even 6?) fields without the fieldnames onscreen at the same time? I'd call this a "Raw" display.

2). Is there a key combination that would allow me to flip to the next or previous record without returning to the index display?

Thanks for a great product - it fills the gap for the many of the "missing" apps I became dependent on in the Palm world.


In response to #1, there is no way to customize this screen. The field names will always be displayed. As you indicated, Forms are not supported on the S60 platform and that would be the only way to accomplish that. At this point we don't have any plans to implement Forms support on the S60 platform. On my E61 I actually see 4 fields but that may be dependent on the screen resolution.

Regarding #2, I just did a test and on my Nokia E61 I'm able to use the directional button, when a record is open, and push the button right or left to scroll to the next or previous record. The same should apply to the E63 or E71 as well. Additionally, if you press the Options button you should see a Next Record and Previous Record option on the menu that would let you move between them. The Options menu items would be the only thing akin to a key combination.
Regards,
David Devaney, Jr.
DavidDevaneyJr
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 11:01 pm
Location: Lake Worth, FL

Re: S60 Field Display (Only) on Phone?

Postby CarlCass » Fri Aug 28, 2009 2:24 pm

Thanks. I see the next/previous under Options now that I look for them <chagrin>. The left/right-scroll DOES work! Guess I was deluded thinking they didn't work - I've explored so much software since jumping out of the Palm camp that I sometimes become even more confused than normal <grin>.
My E63 is set to large font due to my failing eyes and will show 3 fields max. Dropping font size to smallest reveals a 4th field but I am hard-pressed to read any of them. It just seems so very silly to use an entire line for the field label and the entire next line for the field contents. Waah, right?
Thanks for the (Super-Fast) response! I don't believe I've ever had such a quick comeback.
and... Cheers! :D
History: 1984 Casio Digital Diarys & Sharp Wizards, Palm 500 & Pro & IIIc, Compaq Aero 1100/1250, Treo90, Tungsten C & Treo 700p, Nokia E63 / E71x, Samsung Galaxy S & Nexus (CM) & now LG Nexus 4 (CM)
CarlCass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:23 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: S60 Field Display (Only) on Phone?

Postby dhaupert » Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:00 pm

CarlCass wrote:It just seems so very silly to use an entire line for the field label and the entire next line for the field contents. Waah, right?


I agree with your thoughts on this- In the wide screen devices, we actually do exactly as you'd expect- but on the skinny screens most field names get cut off or there is not enough text. Additionally, since the OS doesn't support a scaling size for the text box, since you'd likely need at least two lines for many entries, you'd just wind up with whitespace under the field name.

Palm OS did a nice scaling size for the text boxes so it would scale to fit the size needed. I wish the s60 had that!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am


Return to HanDBase for S60

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron