Registry entry

This forum is for application developers who are integrating HanDBase into their solutions via the HanDBase API (HAPI) or other means. It's also a great place to discuss runtime development.

Registry entry

Postby handbase@avisys.net » Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:28 pm

Can we always and consistently count on an enumeration of the following registry entry . . .

"HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\DDH Software\HanDBase4\iPhone\Users"

. . . to contain the names of the various HanDBase4 device users?

Thanks,

Jerry
handbase@avisys.net
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Registry entry

Postby dhaupert » Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:04 am

Hi there,

Good question- indeed you can. That's not something I plan on changing any time soon!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Registry entry

Postby handbase@avisys.net » Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:53 pm

Thanks for the response, and Blessings to you. :D

I ran into a glitch in this scheme, and it is best explained with illustration, so I provide a web page:

http://www.avisys.net/HANDBASE/HANDBASE.html

Thanks,

Jerry
handbase@avisys.net
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Registry entry

Postby curtterp » Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:34 am

I am seeing the same thing on my Windows 7 machines.
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: Registry entry

Postby dhaupert » Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:06 am

Hi again,

Thanks for the followup. Your original question asked about the iPhone users, which do have a User Name as the key for each registry entry. On Android, the user ID is actually that number. Here's how it works:

On iPhone and Android, the conduit sends the command:

http://address:8080/GET_DEVICENAME

The response of that is what is used to uniquely identify the device. On Android, the device user name is protected and so I used the device ID instead.

The conduit for Android then asks for a name to show for that partnership, which is stored in the key section you also showed in your screenshots. So basically to get the list for Android, you have to read the 'hash' key and then find the appropriate match in the other section.

Sorry for the extra work- believe me, I would much rather have been able to skip it as well!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Registry entry

Postby handbase@avisys.net » Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:05 pm

Thanks Dave. Makes sense . . . I think. :lol:

'preciate the help.

Jerry
handbase@avisys.net
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:23 pm


Return to HanDBase - Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron