Difference between Overwrite & One-way sync settings

Discussion of the version of HanDBase that runs on the iPhone and iPod touch devices. This includes the synchronization conduits as well.

Difference between Overwrite & One-way sync settings

Postby ArGiEs » Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:44 pm

Hello,

In the sync settings in the HanDBase desktop, what is the difference in action between the options labeled One-way sync and Overwrites options (e. g. One-way sync: iPhone records to desktop only, and iPhone data overwrites desktop)?
Regards,
Bob
ArGiEs
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:22 am
Location: North-Central Florida

Re: Difference between Overwrite & One-way sync settings

Postby Brian_Houghton » Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:22 am

Hi,

Great question!

With the one way sync, data that is updated on the iPhone is synced to the desktop. The record incoming from the iPhone will overwrite the record on the desktop. Data that is updated on the desktop, however, is not synced to the iPhone. If you do not modify a record on the iPhone, that record on the desktop remains unchanged.

With the overwrites option, all of the records on the iPhone replace all of the records on the desktop with each sync.

The benefit of the former is that as long as you don't modify a record on the iPhone, the desktop data stays intact. You could think of this option as a contextual overwrite - if no changes are made to a record, no overwrite occurs.

The benefit of the latter is that the desktop records are essentially deleted and readded with each sync.

There are situations where each is useful, and that is something you would need to evaluate based on your particular needs.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am


Return to HanDBase for iPhone and iPod touch

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron