Does this program actually work

Discussion of HanDBase running on Windows Mobile Standard (formerly Smartphones) devices and syncing with desktop computers.

Does this program actually work

Postby strongob » Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:54 pm

I just sent a ticket for inability to install databases and tiny viewable area. Also there are no database properties choice and add record results in gibberish. Please let me know if I am on the wrong version or if this program just does not work. If so I would like a refund. I already went through a nonfunctional version with blackberry but had a workable one with a mogul in the past.
strongob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:52 pm

Re: Does this program actually work

Postby dhaupert » Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:41 pm

Hi there,

It sounds like maybe you picked the wrong version to install to your device! There are two versions available for Windows Mobile, depending on the OS that the device runs. My apologies for the confusing naming, but Microsoft renames their device platform every few years and the current one is the absolute most confusing I've experienced!

In terms of HanDBase, the main one is HanDBase for Windows Mobile Professional/Classic. Professional devices are phones that have a touch screen. Classic are PDAs (ie, no phone installed).

Then there is the other version HanDBase for Windows Mobile Standard. WM Standard devices are phones with no touch screen and a much more limited functionality.

I'm guessing that you bought the latter when you needed the former? To be sure, please respond with the device you have and the OS running on it!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Does this program actually work

Postby strongob » Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:14 pm

Thank you for responding. I have htc touch pro2. I had used handbase successfully on a mogul 2y ago but abandoned the program when I tried it on a blackberry due to limited functionality and repeated crashes. I installed HanDBase for Windows Mobile Classic/Professional (Pocket PC) that I had a license for but was unable to install a database. I then (wrongly) thought that I needed HanDBase for Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone) and crossgraded (for $24.99) but it clearly does not work on my device. After reading your post, I deleted the program, downloaded the correct CAB file and installed. It is working much better. It still will not install a database to my device directly from the handbase desktop but I can install via explorer. Now I am only out the money I for the crossgrade I didn't need :( . You are correct, the naming is confusing.
Thanks
strongob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:52 pm

Re: Does this program actually work

Postby dhaupert » Thu Oct 22, 2009 5:51 pm

Hi there,

Glad to hear it was the wrong one. I don't have your name or info or I'd go ahead and issue a refund on the crossgrade (which should have been 14.99, not 24.99!). Please email me (my address is below) with your info and I'll undo the purchase and switch!

Regarding the problem installing from the desktop, perhaps you don't have the files conduit enabled in ActiveSync? Please read here:
http://www.ddhsoftware.com/knowledgebas ... d=235&UID=

Let me know if that is/isn't the case!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am


Return to HanDBase for Windows Mobile Standard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron