How Do You Delete A Database?

Discuss the HanDBase for Windows Desktop program, conduits, and add-ons.

How Do You Delete A Database?

Postby murrysdad » Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:22 am

I'm learning the program (Pro for Windows) and created some test databases, now I can't get them to go away. I want to delete them from the "Open Recent Databases" start-up box.
Please advise.
Thanks
Steve
murrysdad
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 12:11 pm

Re: How Do You Delete A Database?

Postby dhaupert » Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:45 am

Hi Steve,

Thanks for your post. On the computer, the databases are just files. So the program doesn't have a delete function since there is a delete function in the computer. Go to the file explorer program and browse to the location where the database resides. From there you can just delete the file like you would any other!

One caveat is that the history box doesn't wipe them out until you open a few more databases to push them off the list. That history list is just remembering the history of what files were opened, it doesn't account for whether the files still exist there. I'd like to someday change that or provide a clear history button!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: How Do You Delete A Database?

Postby murrysdad » Wed Jun 25, 2014 1:05 pm

Dave,
The first thing I tried was to do was delete the database file. As you say it stays in the list, and when I open the database I want it loads in endlessly and I get a message, too many databases open!

I went to trash and put it back the deleted file, but now when I open the data base I want, it opens both. I think a way to delete from the list would be very helpful. I haven't installed HanDBase on my Android yet (still populating the data), will the same problem exist?
Thanks. And, thank you for the blessings, right back at you.
Steve
murrysdad
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 12:11 pm

Re: How Do You Delete A Database?

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sat Jun 28, 2014 4:20 pm

murrysdad wrote:Dave,
The first thing I tried was to do was delete the database file. As you say it stays in the list, and when I open the database I want it loads in endlessly and I get a message, too many databases open!

I went to trash and put it back the deleted file, but now when I open the data base I want, it opens both. I think a way to delete from the list would be very helpful. I haven't installed HanDBase on my Android yet (still populating the data), will the same problem exist?
Thanks. And, thank you for the blessings, right back at you.
Steve


Hi Steve,

When you delete a database within HanDBase for Android, the file is completely deleted from the device, and upon the next sync with the desktop addon, the conduit we use archives the desktop copy of the file. This means the file is removed from the normal working directory of /Documents/HanDBase/*/ (where * is the name of your Android) and placed in the /Documents/HanDBase/*/Archive/ directory. It is placed there so if you ever want, you can restore/reinstall the file.

Now, regarding the message with too many databases being open, could you elaborate on the exact steps you are taking? For example, when you open HanDBase Desktop are you opening the database from the dialog that appears upon startup, or are you opening it from the File / Open menu option?

It is worth noting that when you begin syncing with an Android, I recommend unchecking the option on the startup dialog so that it does not appear when HanDBase Desktop is opened. The reason for this is that this dialog will list any databases, while the DB Browser dialog within HanDBase Desktop will only list the databases that have are installed on the Android.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am


Return to HanDBase for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron