Text not displaying properly in Android?

For HanDBase related topics that are not specific to one platform.

Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby highwaysguy » Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:15 pm

Hello,

I built some HanDBase files with the desktop manager and our staff use them without any issues on iOS. However, one staff member has an android phone, and our databases aren't displaying properly on his screen.

Image

Does anyone know what could be causing the text size to be excessively large (or the rows to be excessively small)? As well, does anyone know what is causing the text to not wrap on a new line as it does in the iOS client?
highwaysguy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:09 pm

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sat Feb 07, 2015 2:49 pm

Hi,

Thanks for posting.

This issue can occur when using a high density screen on certain devices. We are looking into a fix, but in the meantime, try the following:

- return to the database selection screen
- tap Menu
- tap Preferences
- decrease the list view font size

You can also experiment with different fonts and font sizes if you use a Samsung device.
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby highwaysguy » Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:25 pm

Thanks for the reply Brian. One other question - he doesn't get the popup, when emailing files, to choose between .csv and .txt, does the Android app not have .csv functionality?
highwaysguy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:09 pm

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby Brian_Houghton » Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:31 am

Hi,

CSV functionality is there but it is implemented slightly differently.

To export to CSV:

- open HanDBase to the database selection screen
- tap and hold on the database name
- when the management popup appears tap on the Export option

To import from CSV:

- open HanDBase to the database selection screen
- tap and hold on the database name
- when the management popup appears tap on the Import option
- choose the CSV file to import

Hope this helps.
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby epb613 » Mon Jun 08, 2015 10:28 am

FYI, I'm having the same issue on my new Samsung Galaxy S6. I set the font size down to 15 which works for the time being, but it's hard to see. I'm guessing it has to do with the quad-HD display.

As always, thanks for all your hard work. I couldn't survive without HandBase! :)

Pinny
epb613
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:37 pm

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby aa6vhDave » Tue Jun 09, 2015 10:01 am

I have to set my font size all the way down to 12 to get it to look good on my Samsung GS5.
aa6vhDave
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:42 pm

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby wwwalton » Fri Aug 07, 2015 11:31 am

Just to keep this active, using Droid Turbo lollipop and font size is most difficult and if make larger, it is cut off. Since I have had HandBase on PalmOS, Windows, PocketPC, IOS, would like to continue, please fix this as soon as possible; would be most appreciated.
Thanks,
-walt
wwwalton
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:29 pm

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby lindau » Fri Aug 07, 2015 1:14 pm

wwwalton wrote:Just to keep this active, using Droid Turbo lollipop and font size is most difficult and if make larger, it is cut off. Since I have had HandBase on PalmOS, Windows, PocketPC, IOS, would like to continue, please fix this as soon as possible; would be most appreciated.
Thanks,
-walt


I agree!!!!! Droid Turbo Lollipop
Can't make the font size small enough to see the descenders.
lindau
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 5:50 pm

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby MikeS » Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:09 pm

Same problem on an HTC One M9.
I just came here to learn how to adjust the row height only to find It's been a problem for years.
MikeS
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:02 pm

Re: Text not displaying properly in Android?

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sat Apr 09, 2016 1:44 pm

MikeS wrote:Same problem on an HTC One M9.
I just came here to learn how to adjust the row height only to find It's been a problem for years.


Please contact us at support @ ddhsoftware . com if you would like to try a beta version that addresses this issue.
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Next

Return to HanDBase General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron