HanDBase Android app runs on Blackberry 10 phones

Discuss HanDBase running on RIM BlackBerry devices and synchronization with a desktop.

HanDBase Android app runs on Blackberry 10 phones

Postby chilcotin » Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:14 am

The latest "leaked" version of the Blackberry 10 operating system is able to run Android apps downloaded directly from the Amazon Android Appstore! The version is in its final beta stages and has specific versions for the Z10, Q10, and Z30. The final version of this OS is expected to be released shortly. See:

http://crackberry.com/leaked-os-1021192 ... kberry-z10

I can confirm that, after loading this OS version on my Z10, I was able to download the HanDBase Android apk app file directly onto my Z10 and then run it without any difficulties whatsoever. I also downloaded a number of other Android apps from Amazon and they also ran flawlessly. At long last, Blackberry 10 smartphones are able to join the ranks of the other operating systems that are able to run HandBase. I have run HanDBase on my Palm Treo, various WM handhelds, and various Blackberry OS 6 and OS 7 phones and it a true pleasure to be able to use my HanDBase data files again.

The only problem remaining is that the Android Desktop version will not sync with HanDBase on my Z10. However, I suspect that if the Android app were to be given the ability to access the deviceid.txt file from the Info file folder on the Blackberry, the sync issue might be resolved. If you need a beta tester, put me on the list!
chilcotin
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:33 pm

Re: HanDBase Android app runs on Blackberry 10 phones

Postby dhaupert » Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:16 am

That's great news! I hope it's actually released and not just a hacked version of the OS ;)

If you start up Desktop Connect on the app does it supply an IP address? If so, try going to the web page and selecting:

ADDRESSGIVEN/GET_DEVICEID

where address given is the web site address supplied onscreen (eg, http://192.168.0.1:8080)

Let me know if you get a response!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: HanDBase Android app runs on Blackberry 10 phones

Postby chilcotin » Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:21 pm

Good morning,

Gave it a try, response is as follows

"If you start up Desktop Connect on the app does it supply an IP address?"

Yes, When Desktop Connect is running on my Z10, the response is -From your desktop visit http://192.168.10.11:8080

"If so, try going to the web page and selecting:"

Using Internet Explorer, I typed in http://192.168.10.11:8080 and received the reply, This page can't be displayed

The ip address of my Windows Desktop is 192.168.10.10. The ip address of my Blackberry Z10 is 192.168.10.11

When I attempted to "Setup New Android User" on my HanDBase Android Desktop client, I first entered 192.169.10.11 and received an error message "Could not get Device name from the device. either the device is not running desktop connect, it's not running on the same wifi network as this computer, or the device's address was not valid."

Thanks for looking into this.

Have a great 2014!
chilcotin
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:33 pm

Re: HanDBase Android app runs on Blackberry 10 phones

Postby chilcotin » Mon Feb 03, 2014 8:20 pm

Good news!

This is just to confirm that Blackberry has just released BB OS 10.2.1 through the various mobile carriers to update all Z10, Q10, Z30, and Q5 models. Furthermore, and of direct interest to HanDBase users, Blackberry 10 mobile phones now run the HanDBase Android app flawlessly and directly. There is no longer a need to sideload Android apps. Simply download, for example, the HanDBase.apk file, double click it using Blackberry File Manager, and HanDBase is installed and running on your Blackberry 10 phone.

The only thing remaining for a full implementation is for the synchronization issue with the PC version of HanDBase to be resolved!
chilcotin
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:33 pm

Re: HanDBase Android app runs on Blackberry 10 phones

Postby dhaupert » Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:31 am

That's great news indeed! Thanks for sharing this info with us.

I apologize that I never saw your response to the prior reply I had to you. I'd like to assist you with this- if you could please email me (address in sig below) I can possibly send you a test version that we can use to try to solve the problem!

Thanks in advance.
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: HanDBase Android app runs on Blackberry 10 phones

Postby Ervin » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:15 pm

Has there been an update to this problem of not being able to sync data bases with the desktop with Blackberry 10 (using the Android version)? I have not been using this application/desktop program for awhile now because of this and am ready to delete it. It used to be quite good and functional.
Ervin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:44 pm

Re: HanDBase Android app runs on Blackberry 10 phones

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sat Jun 20, 2015 10:04 am

Would you be willing to help us test a potential solution to syncing?
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: HanDBase Android app runs on Blackberry 10 phones

Postby Ervin » Sat Jun 20, 2015 9:02 pm

My schedule is pretty hectic most times but if you are patient on my delayed feed-back, I am willing. I will send you an email to the address you provided on one of your prior posts.
Ervin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:44 pm


Return to HanDBase for BlackBerry

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests