Syncing with Desktop

For HanDBase related topics that are not specific to one platform.

Syncing with Desktop

Postby delsandberg » Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:38 am

I have an IPad and Windows 10.
I'm confused about how to sync data between the two.
What is the easiest way to do this? Please provide details.
Can anyone help?

Del
delsandberg62@gmailcom
delsandberg
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: Syncing with Desktop

Postby curtterp » Wed Aug 26, 2015 5:44 am

First you need the HanDBase Windows Desktop with iPhone/iPad/iPod plugin. If you do not have HanDBase Windows Desktop, here is a link to the different packages.

http://ddhsoftware.com/handbasedesktopwinios.html

If you purchased HanDBase Windows Desktop previously, but not the iOS plugin, log into your DDHSoftware account (you should have gotten an email when you purchased it). Look for the Upgrade/Crossgrade link on the right side to purchase the iOS at a discount for being a previous customer.

Once you have the Windows Desktop installed, you will need to setup a new partnership (if you haven't done so already).

  • Click on Configure/Sync menu item
  • Click on iPhone/iPod Touch Users (don't worry, its for iPad too)
  • Click on the Setup new iPhone User Button
  • Follow the instructions. Click the Next Button
  • Enter the FULL Address that is showing on your iPad including the http and 8080 on the end. Click the Next button
  • You should get a confirmation that the new partnership has been created. Click the Next button
  • Windows Desktop and your iPad will perform the first sync. When you get the confirmation screen, click the Finish button
  • Now you are back to the Manage user screen, and your iPad name should be showing up there.

To perform a sync after the initial setup

  • Click on Configure/Sync menu item
  • Click on iPhone/iPod Touch Users
  • Click on the Synchronize button
  • Enter the FULL Address that is showing on your iPad including the http and 8080 on the end. Click the Next button
  • When the sync is finished, the sync screen will go away and you will be on the Manage Users screen. Close this screen and click on Done on yoru iPad

These steps assume that you are on a home network and you have Wifi. If you are attempting to sync at work, you will need to contact your network administrator to see if you need any configuration to allow your iPad to be on the company network.

If you run into a problem, let me know and say which step it is failing at.
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL


Return to HanDBase General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron