hand base desktop 4 mac crashes with EL CAPITAN

For HanDBase related topics that are not specific to one platform.

hand base desktop 4 mac crashes with EL CAPITAN

Postby KANJI » Mon Nov 02, 2015 12:43 pm

Hello,

After upgrading my OS X to 10.11.1, handbase crashes when I try to sync with my iPhone 6plus with OS9.1, what can I do?
KANJI
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: hand base desktop 4 mac crashes with EL CAPITAN

Postby Brian_Houghton » Tue Nov 03, 2015 6:34 am

Hi,

Please delete the current sync partnership and recreate it.

To do this, open the sync settings dialog in HanDBase Desktop.

Then select the partnership in the list and then click the - button.

After doing so close the sync dialog and HanDBase Desktop.

Finally, re-open HanDBase Desktop and set up a new sync partnership.

If the sync fails after doing so please let me know.
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: hand base desktop 4 mac crashes with EL CAPITAN

Postby KANJI » Wed Nov 04, 2015 1:05 pm

Nothing changed after doing this.
The program crashes when I try to sync with my iphone.
I really need to sync the database on my mac to my iphone...
Can you help me please?
Do you know any other solution or software i can use to manage handbase databases (until i solve this problem)?

Thanks for your help.
KANJI
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: hand base desktop 4 mac crashes with EL CAPITAN

Postby curtterp » Wed Nov 04, 2015 8:31 pm

What version of HanDBase for Mac Desktop are you running?

Have you tried cold booting your iPhone (holding the power switch until you see the slider to power off)?

Have you tried rebooting your Mac?

Are there any entries in the log? Log files are located in Documents/HanDBase/Device/HanDBasesync.log


I ask these questions because my iPhone 6+ (iOS 9.1) is syncing just fine with my Mac Mini running El Capitan (10.11.1).

I even introduced some errors into the sync process and was unable to make mine crash.
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: hand base desktop 4 mac crashes with EL CAPITAN

Postby KANJI » Thu Nov 05, 2015 2:10 pm

Hello Curt, thanks a lot for you input.

The version of the soft is 4.45b.
Tried rebooting the mac and the iphone, with no positive results.
Have the sync log file in the referred place...

Have you any other suggestions?

I have realized that my database has now thousands of new records /registries with no content at all... I normally have nearly 7.000 records in my database, and now
have 64.958... I don´t know what happened here. Maybe the huge size of the database is the origin of the problem? How can I delete those unwanted records?

THANK YOU ALL FOR YOU HELP.
KANJI
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: hand base desktop 4 mac crashes with EL CAPITAN

Postby curtterp » Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:02 pm

The latest version of the Desktop software for Mac is 4.512. You should download the updated Desktop Software and install.

When you bought the software, you should have gotten an email with a password.

Here is the link to login http://ddhsoftware.com/download.html

The size of the database is not a problem. I have a test database that has over 64,000 records and is almost 9 megs in size. That transfers just fine.

******** Warning ************
Think carefully as you do the below instructions....... these instructions are simple in nature, but you know your database and the data inside the records, so be careful so you do not delete good records.
********************************

The easiest way I can think of to find the unwanted records, is to setup a new view with a filter for a field that has no data in it for the bad records, but guaranteed to have data in the field for the good records. Just do not enter anything in the contains box when you set the filter. When you save out all the way back to the list view, press on the views and select the new view that you just set up.

Check the record count at the bottom, and possibly scroll through the records to make sure that you do not have any good records....

Press on the wrench and delete the records within the filter. Click views and select a different view to see the records you have left. You can delete the view you just created if you want.

Good Luck
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: hand base desktop 4 mac crashes with EL CAPITAN

Postby KANJI » Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:40 pm

Hello Curt, I installed the last version of the software, but the problem persisted.

Just when i deleted the 58000 blank records in my database, it started syncing. NOW IT WORKS LIKE A CHARM.

I wanted to express my greatest gratitude for your kindness and support.

Have a nice day you Master of Handbase :D
KANJI
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: hand base desktop 4 mac crashes with EL CAPITAN

Postby curtterp » Sat Nov 07, 2015 10:52 am

Glad that it is working for you.

Have a good day
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL


Return to HanDBase General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest