Sync Error

Discuss HanDBase running on Mac OSX computers, as well as conduits.

Sync Error

Postby Chrisris » Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:16 am

Greetings,

I'm having a problem that's driving me crazy! My iTouch initially synced nicely to my Mac and I was able to install a file, but something happened where I started getting "error occurred while syncing" messages and subsequent transfers to my iTouch didn't work. (Sorry I no longer have the logs). I tried everything, then decided to reinstall the trial version (which I will buy as soon as this gets resolved, I promise!) in case some files got corrupted. I trashed everything I could find related to Handbase on my Mac. However, when I reinstalled the Handbase desktop the Handbase folder in my Documents folder was empty (the User, Backup, and Archive folders were missing). I was able to sync one file, but then I started getting the error message again but the error log showed "No log". No files show up in the Open Database window - the files aren't being saved into the Handbase folder (they are being saved to the Documents folder). I tried restoring my iTouch but it didn't help. Where do I go from here?

Thanks,

Christopher

PS Would you mind sending a copy of your reply to my email address: ChrisRis@comcast.net?
Chrisris
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:03 am

Re: Sync Error

Postby dhaupert » Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:32 pm

Hi Chris,

It sounds like perhaps you did not delete the following file that holds the partnership information:
First close HanDBase Desktop
Then in finder:
Under Users\YourUserName\Library\Preferences (where YourUserName is your mac user name)
Delete the file named "com.ddhsoftware.HanDBase Desktop 4.plist"

Then try launching again and recreating the partnership. Let me know how that goes!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Sync Error

Postby eibsen » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:54 am

I have the same problem and deleting the "com.ddhsoftware.HanDBase Desktop 4.plist" does not help, deleting it and restarting does not help either. What to do then?
eibsen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:43 am

Re: Sync Error

Postby dhaupert » Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:51 pm

If you delete while the program is running, it will be recreated when you exit the program with the current settings. You need to exit the program, then delete the plist file and then start the app up. Please try that and let me know if you still see existing partnerships listed when you go to the sync screen.
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am


Return to HanDBase for Mac

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests

cron