Linked Databases Question

Discuss HanDBase running on various Palm OS devices and synchronization with desktop computers.

Linked Databases Question

Postby moneil » Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:41 am

I've enjoyed learning about using linked databases. One is a Vehicle database with varies entries (including farm equipment) that includes make, model, serial # or VIN, liscence #, acquisition, etc. Each entry can then link to other databaes to record service information, specifications (filters, belts, tire size, etc.), trip logs (or field useage), and MPG.

When I open a subordinate database and filter it (for example, the service record for a particular vehicle or piece of equipment) the name of vehicle (which came from the link) displays just as it is in the main database. There are times I want to export these records to a spreadsheet. When I do that the identifying name of the vehicle (the "show value from" item set up in the Link) displays in the spreadsheet as a long string of alpha-numeric characters, rather than the name of the vehicle.

I've gotten around the phenomena by having a DB Popup field in each subordinate database that refers back to the main database, so I can re-record the name of vehicle/equipment for the entry. When I export to a spreadsheet the vehicle name displays in this field.

This works well in the above instance, because there are only 20 or so items in the main database. I’m developing a shopping database that will have a linked subordinate database to record prices, and price per unit, at different stores. Again, I can imagine wanting to export a filtered list from the subordinate price database to a spreadsheet. Because the main database of items will have 200 or more records, using a DB Popup field in the linked subordinate price database to re-record the item name, while doable, wouldn’t be the most convenient thing.

I’m wondering if there is another solution, or an approach that I’m missing. Thanks for any ideas!
moneil
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:15 am

Re: Linked Databases Question

Postby dhaupert » Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:00 pm

Hi there,

When you export a database from the windows HanDBase Desktop, by default the internal linking unique values are exported. But there is a preference to switch to get the value you're looking for. Go to Configure, Preferences and then Formats. The last option there reads:

When exporting, export linked field's: and is probably set to Numeric value. Change this to Value from "SHOW VALUE FROM' of Link field and you should be good to go!

Otherwise, you may want to look at creating a relationship field to show this same information. Information on this is available here:

http://www.ddhsoftware.com/knowledgebas ... d=195&UID=

Hope this helps!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Linked Databases Question

Postby moneil » Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:55 am

I neglected to reply that your solution worked perfectly! Thank you.

Also, thanks for the suggestion to look at relationships, that might work well for some applications also.
moneil
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:15 am


Return to HanDBase for Palm OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron