Strange characters from CSV import

Discuss HanDBase running on Mac OSX computers, as well as conduits.

Strange characters from CSV import

Postby ken.w » Fri Aug 13, 2010 7:00 pm

On a CSV that I imported that looked fine in Excel or NeoOffice, I get these weird characters in HanDBase for Mac, 4.30. See attachment. Fortunately I don't see these characters in the iPhone app.
Attachments
Screen shot 2010-08-13 at 19.57.16 .png
Screen shot 2010-08-13 at 19.57.16 .png (86.57 KiB) Viewed 1066 times
ken.w
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:22 pm

Re: Strange characters from CSV import

Postby ken.w » Sat Aug 14, 2010 10:10 pm

Correction: there ARE weird characters in the iPhone app fields, too. I think they're from a space at the end of the text in some of the fields.
ken.w
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:22 pm

Re: Strange characters from CSV import

Postby dhaupert » Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:01 am

Ken,

That's one I have not seen before! Any chance you can send me the CSV file so I can take a look?
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Strange characters from CSV import

Postby ken.w » Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:25 am

Absolutely. Sent.
ken.w
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:22 pm

Re: Strange characters from CSV import

Postby ken.w » Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:24 pm

Ah, I found a decent way to strip out those weird characters. I have no problem re-importing the resulting CSV to replace my HanDBase database. After I do that and sync with the iPhone, will I lose anything? I've taken a long time to set up the column widths and views and such and would hate to lose them.

Thanks!
ken.w
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:22 pm

Re: Strange characters from CSV import

Postby dhaupert » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:02 am

Hi there Ken,

Looks like you found a solution before I did! In any case, you can import into an existing database, replacing records, to keep your field widths, types, etc. This should work fine but if it makes you feel more comfortable you can use File, Save As to first save the database to a new location. This way you have two copies and can fall back if you'd like!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am


Return to HanDBase for Mac

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests