Sync Software Problem

Discussion of HanDBase running on Windows Mobile Classic and Professional (formerly Pocket PC) devices and smartphones and syncing with a desktop computer.

Sync Software Problem

Postby NoahSanFran » Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:35 pm

I am am ubernew to this, so just slap me if I am doing something stupid. I had my IT support install the trial pack for hanDbase for Windows mobile with the intention of creating a dummy database on my desktop PC then syncing it with Activesync 4.0 to an Ipaq pda running Widows mobile 5.0. I do believe that when IT installed it they did not check the box for automatic sync, so I have tried to manually execute the HDBsync.exe file from my desktop to install it on the Ipaq. However, when I try this I get a message that the MuSync file settings could not be read. The window that says "sync progress" opens but then this message appears in the error log. What do I need to do differently here? Thanks in advance. :?
NoahSanFran
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:23 pm

Re: Sync Software Problem

Postby dhaupert » Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:01 pm

Hi there,

Thanks for your post. It does sound like they may not have set that checkbox. Unfortunately, a reinstall is the only way to configure that, other than manually editing registry settings.

But regarding the Musync error, that's puzzling- a several years old problem that has all but disappeared with newer versions of the software. I'm surprised to see it here. What version of the software is running on the desktop? You can go to the HanDBase Desktop and then to Help, About and get the package versions in the box on that screen.

In the interim, I will have to dig back through some old emails and try to remember the cause and fix for that old issue!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Sync Software Problem

Postby NoahSanFran » Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:43 pm

Had my IT dept reinstall it while I watched. It successfully linked to activesync , found the Ipaq and installed the cab file, so I think it is going to work. Thanks so much
NoahSanFran
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:23 pm

Re: Sync Software Problem

Postby Brian_Houghton » Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:57 pm

NoahSanFran wrote:Had my IT dept reinstall it while I watched. It successfully linked to activesync , found the Ipaq and installed the cab file, so I think it is going to work. Thanks so much


Hey NoahSanFran,

Brian with DDH here. The issue with the musync error has to do with a file called "multisyncsettings.dat". Run a search for it on your C drive, and delete it. You will, however, need to recreate any custom sync exchange entries you have after doing so.

Hope this helps. Please let us know if you find that it doesn't.

Kind regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: Sync Software Problem

Postby adshel » Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:33 pm

Hi Brian

We are getting the same error
- Could not read MuSync settings file

and i looked for the
multisyncsettings.dat file but came up with no search results.

any other things we could try to sync successfully?
adshel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:29 pm

Re: Sync Software Problem

Postby Brian_Houghton » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:10 pm

Hello,

Thanks for reporting this. Please check C:\Program Files\HanDBase 4\ There should be a file titled MultiSyncSettings.dat that you can delete.

Hope this helps!
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: Sync Software Problem

Postby keoneulatech » Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:48 pm

Autosync works when I log onto my computer as an administrator but does not when I don't. I downloaded the latest version of HanDBase and am running Windows 7 Pro.

The MultiSyncSettings.dat is nowhere on my computer.
keoneulatech
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:32 pm

Re: Sync Software Problem

Postby Brian_Houghton » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:41 pm

keoneulatech wrote:Autosync works when I log onto my computer as an administrator but does not when I don't. I downloaded the latest version of HanDBase and am running Windows 7 Pro.

The MultiSyncSettings.dat is nowhere on my computer.


Hello "keoneulatech",

To clarify, are you receiving the MuSync error? If so, does it occur when in a non-Admin account and the sync fails?

I'd like to gain some extra information as well. Additionally, can you check the following for me:

1.a. If you are not experiencing the musync error, what is the full text of the error you are getting?
1.b. Did you install HanDBase while in the admin account or in a non-admin account?
2. Is HanDBase installed to the default location of C:\Program Files\HanDBase 4\?
3. Check the Help -> About menu option in HanDBase Desktop. Look at the Installed Packages section. What package is listed?
4. What is your level of UAC set at?

Thanks in advance as this will help us have a better picture of what is occurring!
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am


Return to HanDBase for Windows Mobile Classic and Professional

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest