Update on Update

Discussion of HanDBase running on Windows Mobile Classic and Professional (formerly Pocket PC) devices and smartphones and syncing with a desktop computer.

Re: Update on Update

Postby zooguy1492 » Sun Jul 05, 2009 8:07 am

Have any of these issues been addressed in the 4.1.5 development update? I don't see them in the list of fixes?

zooguy1492 wrote:The MS Access sync problem is that I could not sync a HanDBase database to MS Access using the PC Desktop environment and WM handheld... The problem was reported:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HanD ... sage/22439
as well as through MANY e-mails and ticket numbers (e.g. Ticket Number: 468056, and 468056).

I was told this by Brian:
Thanks for your email. I want to let you know that David has confirmed that the desktop overwrites handheld sync isn't working properly but the one way sync option is working properly.


While I'm at it, here are a few other issues I've brought up before:

- Relationship field not updating properly:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HanD ... sage/22566

- Copy Record to New not copy Time field properly:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HanD ... sage/22578
Also mentioned in Ticket Number 468056.

- Syncing views between Handheld and Desktop (you probably think of this as a feature):
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HanD ... sage/22415
zooguy1492
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:18 pm

Re: Update on Update

Postby zooguy1492 » Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:25 pm

I've asked this question a few times but haven't seen a response.. Has this Data Sync Exchange problem between HanDBase and MS Access been fixed?
zooguy1492 wrote:The MS Access sync problem is that I could not sync a HanDBase database to MS Access using the PC Desktop environment and WM handheld... The problem was reported:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HanD ... sage/22439
as well as through MANY e-mails and ticket numbers (e.g. Ticket Number: 468056, and 468056).

I was told this by Brian:
Thanks for your email. I want to let you know that David has confirmed that the desktop overwrites handheld sync isn't working properly but the one way sync option is working properly.

Can somebody explain to me the difference between "desktop overwrites handheld" and "one way sync"?
zooguy1492
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:18 pm

Re: Update on Update

Postby dhaupert » Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:08 am

zooguy1492 wrote:Have any of these issues been addressed in the 4.1.5 development update? I don't see them in the list of fixes?

- Relationship field not updating properly:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HanD ... sage/22566


The Relationship field is updated when the record is first loaded. The reason a DB popup appears to update more frequently is that when you click to select a db popup, the record is actually saved, and then the DB Popup comes up. When selected, the DB Popup values are copied and inserted into the record which is reloaded to memory. So that is why the update occurs at that point- it's just opening the record again to copy the values into it. On a mobile device we can't keep multiple databases and records open at once- the memory is just not there for such an operation. Thus, this one is not a bug, it's planned behavior. As far as a 'feature request', updating relationships as each field value changes is not likely to be very speed and resource efficient, so it's not likely to happen at this point.

- Copy Record to New not copy Time field properly:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HanD ... sage/22578
Also mentioned in Ticket Number 468056.


I remember testing for this and I believe fixing it. I just tried this with my current version and don't see any problems with it. Perhaps you can let me know if you're still seeing a problem in this regard!

- Syncing views between Handheld and Desktop (you probably think of this as a feature):
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HanD ... sage/22415

The item you sent here is an iPod touch/iPhone issue. I assume you mean the same issue in reference to the WM platform. In general Views are handled as a structure of the database. In other words, we treat them the same as the structure of the database in that if it changes, the entire database overwrites the other side if the structure changes. So for example, if you add a view on the desktop it's supposed to mark the structure as changed, and thus during the sync, the decision is made to overwrite the handheld with the structure changed database on the desktop. That is what I would consider normal behavior. If I could turn back the clocks, I'd likely include some header information for each view so they could truly sync. But the structure is set in stone at this point at least until the next major upgrade!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Update on Update

Postby zooguy1492 » Sat Dec 05, 2009 9:42 pm

dhaupert wrote:
zooguy1492 wrote:- Copy Record to New not copy Time field properly:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HanD ... sage/22578
Also mentioned in Ticket Number 468056.

I remember testing for this and I believe fixing it. I just tried this with my current version and don't see any problems with it. Perhaps you can let me know if you're still seeing a problem in this regard!
This doesn't seem to have been fixed in my 4.1.5 version dated 8/19/09... I'm using a form to select the "Copy Record to New". Also, instead of seeing "NO TIME" in the field after the copy, I now see "No Time"

Another way to see the problem is to 'Copy Record to New". Then go to the Time field and select it, you will see no time being selected (i.e. not checked and time field grayed out).
zooguy1492
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:18 pm

Re: Update on Update

Postby zooguy1492 » Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:10 pm

Any comment on this?
zooguy1492
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:18 pm

Re: Update on Update

Postby dhaupert » Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:06 am

My apologies for missing this post and not responding. As Brian has responded to your email about this- we've duplicated this as a bug and will address it hopefully for the next maintenance release. I don't have a date for this release at this point, but it's not something that I'd expect in January as I'm working on other projects at this time.

Sorry for the bug!
dhaupert
 
Posts: 4111
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Update on Update

Postby wback » Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:46 am

I'm running HanDBase for iPhone version 4.8.711 and have the same problem: When copy a record to New, time fields are not copied. Is there a work around or a patch available? The issue is very inconvenient, since I'm using HanDBase on my iPhone for managing structured appointment data. For repeating appointments, I'm using Copy Record to New and then just have to modify the Date field, since in 90 % of the cases the time is the same. However, due to that bug, I have to change additionally the time field, a 100% increase in work (2 fields, instead of one field). I'd appreciate it very much, if that bug, that is now around two years old, could get fixed.
wback
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 5:38 am

Re: Update on Update

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:33 pm

Hi,

Thanks for posting. Sorry for not initially seeing your post, as it was in the Windows Mobile section and it doesn't seem to get much attention anymore. I'm checking into this issue with Dave. Once he gets back to me, which will likely be Monday, I'll follow up.
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: Update on Update

Postby Brian_Houghton » Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:14 am

@ wback,

Dave has logged the bug for the iOS & Android versions and will incorporate a fix in an upcoming update.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Previous

Return to HanDBase for Windows Mobile Classic and Professional

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests