Installation problem

Discussion of HanDBase running on Windows Mobile Classic and Professional (formerly Pocket PC) devices and smartphones and syncing with a desktop computer.

Installation problem

Postby Totte » Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:25 am

Hi !
I have Windows 7 enterprise and HanDBase Professional for Windows Mobile Classic/Professional v4.1.5d.
Device is HTC HD2
My device does not show on the list "Select a device to install to"

The installation goes on if i cancel this window but when i start Handbase I get this log message:
ActiveSync for user: HTC21
2011-07-06 11-40-38: HanDBase error:
- Could not read MuSync settings file

Do You have any ideas what the problem is ?

Torsten Andersson
Sweden
Totte
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 2:05 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Installation problem

Postby Brian_Houghton » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:19 am

Hello,

Thanks for writing. Please run a search on your computer for a file called "MuSyncSettings.dat". When you find the file, navigate to it and delete it. Then check your sync.
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am

Re: Installation problem

Postby Totte » Sat Jul 30, 2011 5:58 am

Hi again !
Now i have searched troughout my computer without finding the file You suggested.

I tried to install handbase logged in as user and logged in as admin .... no success.

I have even tried to first install from admin account and then install from user account ... still no success.

Any ideas ?
Totte
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 2:05 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Installation problem

Postby curtterp » Sat Jul 30, 2011 11:07 am

Totte

Does your phone sync properly with other items without HanDBase Desktop installed?

The reason why I ask, is that I noticed in the specs of that phone, it has HTC Sense built on top of Windows Mobile 6.5 Professional, and I wonder if Microsoft Mobile Device Center is having issues with HTC Sense or not.

Before I got my Android phone, I used a PDA with Windows Mobile 2003 and Windows 7 Professional for HanDBase and had no issues with syncing.
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: Installation problem

Postby Brian_Houghton » Sat Jul 30, 2011 3:16 pm

Hello,

Thanks for the update. Sense shouldn't cause a problem. I had a Touch Pro 2 for about 2 weeks ;) that had Sense. It doesn't interfere with the sync.

Let's take a different approach: Open HanDBase Desktop and select the Configure -> Windows Mobile Users options. Delete any Sync Exchange users that you have created. Then try syncing. The downside, none of your Access databases (if you are using any) will sync to HanDBase. However, if the sync works properly, you should be able to redefine the entries without too much trouble.

Let us know if this makes any difference.
Kind Regards,
Brian Houghton, DDH Software
Brian_Houghton
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:30 am


Return to HanDBase for Windows Mobile Classic and Professional

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron