ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Discussion of the version of HanDBase that runs on the iPhone and iPod touch devices. This includes the synchronization conduits as well.

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby curtterp » Wed Jun 30, 2021 10:06 am

dreslism1 wrote:I don’t have that setting.

“Allow HanDBase to access” does not have a “local network” setting.

I only have “face id”, “Siri and search”, “cellular data”.

Where is this setting at?


What version of iOS are you running?

Which iPhone do you have?
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby dreslism1 » Sat Jul 03, 2021 9:26 am

iOS 14.6
dreslism1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 03, 2021 10:32 pm

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby curtterp » Sat Jul 03, 2021 7:19 pm

dreslism1 wrote:iOS 14.6


Which iPhone do you have and which version of HanDBase are you running?
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby dreslism1 » Mon Jul 05, 2021 9:40 am

4.9.079 2018.9.23.1

IPhone 11 Pro Max.
dreslism1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 03, 2021 10:32 pm

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby curtterp » Mon Jul 05, 2021 11:26 am

dreslism1 wrote:4.9.079 2018.9.23.1

IPhone 11 Pro Max.



Thanks for the information. You have the same setup I have other than I have the iPhone 12 Pro Max. The version of iOS and HanDBase are the same as what I have.

Try this:
  • Go to Settings->Privacy->Local Network
  • Look for HanDBase
  • Switch it to On if Off

If HanDBase is not listed there, then you might have to uninstall/reinstall HanDBase

Here is a link to the Apple Support Page that talks about this.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT211870
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby luislopezcamps » Thu Jul 08, 2021 6:36 am

Hi! I'm having same problem on an iPod Touch:
- iOS updated to 14.6
- HandBase installed as new app.
- HandBase doesn't appears into Settings->Privacy->Local Network.
- Reinstalled HandBase and there is the same problem.

In my iphone is working well after activated Settings->Privacy->Local Network.
In other iPod with HandBase installed before iOS update HandBase appears into Settings->Privacy->Local Network

It seems HandBase isn't asking iOs to use this permission at the first time.
luislopezcamps
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:28 am

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby dreslism1 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 4:02 pm

curtterp wrote:
dreslism1 wrote:4.9.079 2018.9.23.1

IPhone 11 Pro Max.



Thanks for the information. You have the same setup I have other than I have the iPhone 12 Pro Max. The version of iOS and HanDBase are the same as what I have.

Try this:
  • Go to Settings->Privacy->Local Network
  • Look for HanDBase
  • Switch it to On if Off

If HanDBase is not listed there, then you might have to uninstall/reinstall HanDBase

Here is a link to the Apple Support Page that talks about this.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT211870


Yes, it’s not listed there. I’m not going to uninstall it as I have to many databases to risk.
dreslism1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 03, 2021 10:32 pm

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby graemesmith1960 » Tue Jul 20, 2021 1:59 pm

I can confirm all of this as well. I initially installed HanDBase under iOS 14.5 when I got a new iPad Pro and apart form crashing every time it opens a database that hasn't been encrypted on the iPad itself (another thread) it worked fine. Unfortunately I transferred an encrypted database by mistake and HanDBase would not open at all so I had to delete the App. Reinstalled under iOS 14.6 and now no access to WiFi sync. As mentioned, installing under 14.6 HanDBase does not ask for Local Network Access so does not appear in the Privacy-Local Network list. My install had survived the migration from 14.5 to 14.6 and the issue only came up doing a new install under 14.6
graemesmith1960
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:01 pm

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby curtterp » Tue Jul 20, 2021 6:39 pm

After a lot of research over the past week or 2, this is about the only thing I can come up with to see if that will solve the issue. This will reset your network connections and I don't know if this will help or not with HanDBase not asking for permission to access the WiFi network


**********************************************************************
Reset your Network Settings.
Go to Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings. This also resets Wi-Fi networks and passwords, cellular settings, and VPN and APN settings that you've used before.
*********************************************************************
Have a good day

Curt
I am not a DDHSoftware employee, just a long time HanDBase user.... from Palm to Windows Mobile to Android, to iOS. Thanks to DDH, the database files transferred to each platform without a problem.
curtterp
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Northern IL

Re: ios 14.5 not syncing - connect to wifi

Postby luislopezcamps » Wed Jul 21, 2021 1:29 am

I have been testing on an iPod Touch and iPad with this problem and trying multiple combinations: stop wifi, restart ipod (3 or 4 times), reconnect to wifi, open app before wifi is attach, connect ipod by cord, connect ipod to a shared iPhone inet connection. I don't know which is the winner combination..., but finally, iOs displayed the LAN message to enable de permission and now it's working fine. It was not necessary to reinstall HandBase anytime.

Anyway, HandBase has something to do with that.
luislopezcamps
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:28 am

PreviousNext

Return to HanDBase for iPhone and iPod touch

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests